Christmas Picture Story

This is going to be a story about Christmas with my grandchildren, presents from my daughter, and some interesting cards I’ve received.

I had planned on staying longer with my daughter’s family, but because of bad winter weather coming on I went home before the cold hit. This morning I went to the Post Office to retrieve my mail that had been on hold. It was exciting to open the Christmas cards. Each card was a reminder of love and friendship. I am so thankful to God for family and friends.

00 Christmas story

True to Swedish tradition we had the Advent candles. As David put it, they are “half Swedish,” so they need to have some Swedish traditions. One thing that we used to have for Christmas was rice pudding. The kids like it so much they have it every Sunday.

Xmas breakfast

Something very American has been added to the tradition: pumpkin role. Some will have the rice pudding with cinnamon and milk. Here we have it with jelly and whipped creme. David has it with chocolate chips.

Here are my beautiful grandchildren ready for Christmas celebration.

01 Cole kids xmas 2014

02 David xmas 2014

03 David fun hoddie

04 David and I

Something unusual happened. David sat in my lap! When I wanted to cuddle with him, he said, “Hands off, please!” How I love this boy!

05 Lana xmas 2014

06 Bible reading

Lana sat by her Daddy when he read the Christmas story.

07 Brianna xmas 2014

08 Christmas show

Brianna organized a music show. Little sister Sarah (left) played an angel. I wish you could have seen how she danced!

09 Sarah xmas 2014

Here is this beautiful girl with the Elsa-doll she received from her “mormor” (this grandmother).

10 Raskals Christmas

Kitty-cat also had Christmas.

11 Birthday Thom

In the morning we celebrated Jesus’ birthday. In the afternoon we celebrated the kid’s dad with cheese-cake and presents.

12 Three Kings Gift

The most interesting gift I received was from my friend Michelle. Gold, frankincense, and myrrh. What a creative gift!

13 Personal gift

Since I don’t have a husband who could give me a special gift, I did it myself.

14 Sweetest gift

But I have my daughter, and she always gives me a sweet gift. And here are some more:

15 Warmest gift 16 Journals17 Springtime gift18 The kids

19 Handmade gift

This is a hand-made bread basket made by my sister Ingrid. I liked that the tree on the card matched the material in the basket.

20 Most cherished

My most cherished cards were also hand-made, by Brianna and Sarah.

21 From Emelie

Every year I look forward to the card from my niece Emelie. She is very creative and comes up with the most interesting  cards.

22 Pepes Family

Also, every year my sister-in-law Sherryl sends me a picture-card. The family is growing so the cards get bigger. Every year they are just as cherished.

23 Phil and familyThe card with the good news came from Pepe and Sherryl’s oldest son and family. Guess what? There is going to be more joy in the family, but who am I to “spread” a secret?

24 Smallest cardBig cards, tiny cards… The love is just as great. This one from my sister Agneta.

26 EpistleSome people send small cards other people send epistles. This is a fun Christmas letter I receive every year. I’ve done some translation jobs for this man. That’s how I got on his Christmas mailing list. I guess so!

How about a 17-page letter? This one ending with Foot-prints in the Sand?

From neighbor

When your husband has been gone for 7 years and you get a Christmas greeting addressed to Mr. & Mrs. it does not sit well with me. This one is from a “neighbor.” It’s a greeting that “hurts.” If you are going to send out cards, please find out if the people are dead or alive before addressing them.
27 Swedish card

This one is from and “old” friend. She has passed the 90-mark. Old in years but young at heart.

28 Withou a stamp

This card made it to my door without  a stamp! Did someone rip it off or was it an oversight. It doesn’t matter to me. Now I have one more interesting envelope to add to my collection. Yea, I collect “odd” envelopes.

This card is from some people I knew in Peru. They were missionaries in the jungle. You’ll hear more about them next year when I write my miracle stories. That’s what I’m going to do. I’ll be celebrating 50 years in missions and I will be writing at least 50 miracles from that time.

Praise God for giving me one more Christmas to enjoy with my daughter and her family. And praise God for family and friends.

Praise God also for all my “unknown” blog-friends. I appreciate each one of you!

 

 

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, My grandchildren and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

