A Happy and Prosperous 2015

I’m happy to greet all my blog-page friends wishing you blessings from the One who can bless us beyond measure. May 2015 be happy and prosperous!

Fifty years ago my heart was full of dreams. I remember reading this psalm wondering about my dreams and the desires of my heart. Would they ever be fulfilled?

Psalm 20:4-5

May he give you the desire of your heart
and make all your plans succeed.
May we shout for joy over your victory
and lift up our banners in the name of our God.
May the Lord grant all your requests.

Some months before my boyfriend had broken up with me. I had a big gaping hole in my heart. I still loved him and I wondered if that hurt would ever heal. In a few weeks I would be boarding not a plane but a boat, for a six-week voyage to Peru. I was declared Sweden’s youngest missionary and had my goal for life set. But how would I get over the great loss of my very loved Ingvar?!

As a ten-year-old girl God gave me a vision of Jesus and olive colored children, standing at the shores of a big sea with palm trees as a back-drop. Jesus asked if I was willing to go and tell those children about Him. I almost screamed my answer.

Yes! I would be thrilled to go!

The palm trees on the header have their special story. There are many stories to tell, and I will be telling them one by one this year as a tribute to Jesus, whom I have had the privilege to serve since childhood. I hope you will stay tuned to this blog and rejoice with me over God’s love and care.

I’ve been waiting for months for this day to come. I can hardly wait to go through all my files and put together the story. I had forgotten the name of the boat that took me on the beginning of my missionary journey but I found a letter my mom had written to me, that reached me when the boat docked in Buenaventura, Colombia. I spent six week aboard Bio-Bio, a cargo ship that took a handful of passengers. Here I am together with Ulla Einarsson, a missionary on her way to Chile.

On Bio Bio

I asked Cristina, my assistant, to make a logo for me. This will be my signature for 2015. To God be the Glory!

Logo Eng 01

Did I get over my broken heart? Yes, like many of you probably have experienced. We get over the hurts, praise God. And there have been many hurts, just as there was lots of turbulence during the six weeks voyage across the Atlantic and into the Pacific. I was a determined 18-year-old. One thing I determined was that I would not get sea-sick. I set my heat on it and got through the turbulences without getting sick. That showed me that when you set your mind to something, you can do it!

I have set my mind on many things over the years. Some would call me stubborn. Maybe I am! I have used that stubborn streak to move forward despite trials and opposition. I would rather call it tenacity. Maybe you can make up your own mind about it as you follow along in my story of Fifty Years, Fifty Miracles. That is just a start… there are many, many more miracles.

One miracle is that I’m here, writing. Close to seven years ago I was at the brink of death. I asked God to let me live, so that I could tell his wonders to the next generation. That’s what I’m doing daily. This story is going to be my legacy to my daughter and her children.

These have been two of my guiding stars from the Bible:

Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Psalm 37:4

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:5-6

2015 is going to be awesome…

The celebration has begun!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

