An Unexpected Present

Today is my Baby’s birthday. She might not like me calling her “baby,” but just for today she’ll have to endure it. I’m going back in time remembering some of the adorable pictures from her first years. She is definitely not a baby, but a mother of four who has her hands full, especially on this birthday, as you will see when you hear about her unexpected gift.

Apart from her responsibilities as mother and homemaker, she works at the kid’s school as a personal assistant to a special needs child. My granddaughter Brianna’s reaction is quite interesting. “Mom acts like (Name) is her child,” she said to me at Christmas-time. I’m proud of that! All children need love and obviously my daughter shows that love clearly.

This reminds me of how loving she was to little children even from an early age. The cutest thing was with a little neighbor girl we had when Carina was four years old. The girl was older then Carina but much smaller in size, which made Carina be very protective of her. This was in Peru. We later spent three years in Sweden. There we had several friends that had adopted children from Peru. Carina used to watch them whenever we got together. The mothers had no worries because she was so loving and responsible.

Here comes by birthday wish with a card Cristina made for me and some pictures I have pulled together.

Happy Bday Carina

My Baby Carina

Carina and David

Carina One

Mormor nad Morfar

Mormor and Morfar is Swedish for Grandmother and Grandfather on mother’s side. We were all missionaries in Peru when Carina was a little girl.

Carina 1A

Carina 1 b

The above two pictures were taken by Bertil, my sister Ingrid’s husband, when they visited us in Karlskrona, Sweden, my husband’s hometown. This is when my mother-in-law first got to meet her grandchildren.

Ruth Carina

Two of my favorite pictures of my girl. On the right, her first “studio” picture, taken when we visited Sweden. The other picture was taken in a studio in Bolivia on Carina’s fifteenth birthday. She was a Quinceañera, a very special celebration in Latin America when a girl turns 15.

Glamour Carina

I’ll finish with this glamor shot taken in Miami, Florida. She and her sister had so much fun taking glamor pictures. They were missing their Dad who was in South America on a mission trip. Both her sister and her father have taken their last trip and are waiting for us in God’s Heaven.

Our times are in God’s hands. As I pray for Carina on this her special day, I pray for each reader. May your birthday this year be blessed with God’s presence in a very special way, and may you have many more to celebrate God’s goodness.

What is the unexpected “birthday present”? I had hoped to visit my daughter but she advised me not to plan a trip because of the flu going around. They closed the kid’s school on Friday because so many of the children were sick.

Yesterday I found this pictures posted on Facebook. That’s the Unexpected Present! All three of the girls have the flu. And my daughter is not feeling very well herself. I still hope she will have a Happy Birthday!

Unexpected Present

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

