Two Special Valentine Days

Two Valentine Days stand out. Both are great miracles. One of the greatest miracles is how we as a family came to the United States. Many people wish for that and have no possibilities. As I tell my story of God’s miracles in my life, you will hear about how God opened the door for us. Today I’m remembering the Valentine’s Day in 1997. Here’s why!

Amercian citizen

On February 14, 1997 I was sworn in as an American Citizen in Denver, Colorado. Two more years and I will celebrate the big two O. This is all by the grace of God. Between that Valentine and today many winds have blown across my life.

One Valentine my husband surprised me at work with the biggest heart-balloon I’d ever imagined. He was so proud to give that to the love of his life. There is no man on earth that has ever loved me like he did. It’s humbling to think that I was his hero, but that’s the way he would refer to me.

The other Valetine’s Day that stands out is February 14, 2009. By that time there was no one to call me a hero anymore. My sweetheart was in Heaven! I had recently gone through radiation and chemotherapy for cancer, but that did not stop me. I had an opportunity to do what I love the most: teach teachers!

One of my former students from the Bethel Bible Institute in Huancayo, Peru had invited me for a Christian Education seminar. Since it was going to be on Valentine’s Day, guess what subject I chose? Love, of course!

On my way down to Peru I changed flights in Miami. If you have been at the Miami International Airport you knows about the looooong walks to change from one plane to another! A pleasant surprise on that long walk was a display in one of the concourses. Isn’t it beautiful?

AllNeedLove

VIP heartAll we need is love. Yes! And God is Love! In Him we have everything we need! That was the core of my teaching. I made red hearts with a mustard seed taped in the middle, as an object lesson about the power in even the smallest act of kindness. I also made hearts with VIP written on them, for everyone to wear as a reminder that everyone is a Very Important Person. Of course, we especially pointed out how important children are.

The organizer Walter won a bear in a contest. Here he is together with my father, who at that time could still be in Peru. He can’t travel anymore so he lives in Sweden. This was a memorable moment for him and one of his students from the Bible institute he founded.

Winner 2009

Here are some pictures from that day when I had the privilege of teaching 200+ teachers about teaching God’s Word to children and youth.

Teachers  2009

Teaching 2009

Seminar Hyo 2009

Here I am with some of the helpers. This week some of them are engaged in a Vacation Bible School. It’s summer in South America! The love of theses VIP’s goes on.

We all need love and we can spread love. Even the tiniest act of love God multiplies, in ways we cannot even imagine. In 2003 God gave me a mandate to spread the Seed of Love. Read it here: Seed of Love

This is the day we celebrate love. I’m sure you can think of something special you can do to spread love. All we need is love! Even what you might consider “nothing” is “something”! Do something “little” that for someone else will be “big”. There is great power in love!

I’m thankful for the two special Valentine Days I have as cherished memories. What memories are you making?

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Love, Seed of Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

