Ingrid, my Awesome Sister

The Editor of Good Housekeeping magazine (March 2015 issue) challenges the readers to sum up themselves in a word. The Staff at the magazine did that, and here are some of the words: sweet, fiery, solid, dynamic, curious, optimist, vibrant, evolving, gregarious, passionate…

I liked the idea. As today is my sister Ingrid’s birthday, I started thinking of a word to describe her. There was one word that stood out: awesome! She is the sister I was jealous of when growing up. In 2011 I wrote a blog about her and used three words to describe her: cute, outgoing, smart. I grew up in her shadow. She grabbed people’s attention; I was like the ugly duckling. She was awesome then, and she’s still awesome.

Ingrid fulfilled her childhood dream of becoming a doctor. She and her husband have worked as missionaries in Africa and my brother-in-law, Bertil, has also been a pastor in Sweden. Now they are busy with a hospital they have built in Burkina Faso. My sister is retired from her job as a doctor in Sweden, and she will discover, as have I, that you get even busier when you’re retired, that is, if you want to be engaged in giving back to bless others with the blessings you have received in life.

Going through my files I found two pictures that I’d like to share. Ingrid, as the cute little girl I envied, and Ingrid as a beautiful mother.

Ingrid and Dad

Ingrid and Elisabet

I’m proud to be this awesome woman’s big sister, even if I’m in the shadow. I hope she will go on shining bright for many years as she now uses her skills in Africa. I’m so amazed at how she and her husband have spearheaded the building of a hospital. It’s God’s blessings from one generation to another. Both of their parents were missionaries. My brother-in-law’s father founded a ministry to collect money for printing Gospel literature. I used to get some funding through that ministry, called PIL (Pentecostal Mission International Literature). His dad was known as “PIL Olle” because he was so passionate about providing funds for Christian literature.

There is a promise in Psalm 37:25,26, about how your children will be blessed if you lead a righteous and generous life, and that is what our parents have done.

I was young and now I am old,
yet I have never seen
the righteous forsaken
or their children begging bread.
They are always generous and lend freely;
their children will be a blessing.

My siblings and I have the blessing of parents that devoted their life to serving God. The same can be said about my sister Ingrid’s husband. I can never marvel enough of the grace bestowed on us. I’m thinking about what word I would choose to describe myself. Maybe it should be BLESSED!

What word would you sum up your life with? It’s an interesting exercise. What words would you use to describe your loved ones?

Awesome is my word for Ingrid. Happy Birthday!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

