Not a Burden but my Brother

Maybe you have heard the story of the girl who was carrying a heavy load. Someone commented to her that she shouldn’t be carrying such a heavy burden.

“It’s not a burden,” she answered, “It’s my brother!”

I woke up this morning with this story in my head and a picture I remembered of carrying my little brother. I found it, and I scanned it. Here it is!

Not burden My brotherCarrying my little brother as typical for Tarma, Peru
where we lived and where Lasse was born

Today is my brother’s birthday. The brother I prayed for. Every night, as a twelve-year-old, I would ask God to give me a brother. I had a brother, but I guess I wanted one more. I screamed with excitement when my parents announced we were having an addition to the family! God had answered my prayers.

My answer to prayer

My parents took advantage of the situation. I had to help out a lot in caring for him. I don’t remember complaining about it, but they would always say, “You asked for him!” To emphasize the point, they named him Samuel, like the boy Hannah prayed for and received from God. Lars Gunnar Samuel is his name, but we call him Lasse.

I took care of Lasse quite a bit when he was a toddler. When Mom was away working I would make him call me “mommy” and I was very proud when someone would think I was his mother.

Lasse has been such a blessing! I love him dearly, but we don’t see each other often since we live in two continents. At Dad’s latest birthdays America and Europe did meet!

Early on Lasse started helping my parents in their mission work. Even as a young teen-ager he earned respect, helping at church and at camps.

He married young and started working at a church, being in charge by himself. Very soon he was doing construction (remodeling or new, I can’t remember), to everyone’s amazement. He has then built some houses, the latest one he worked on doing everything by himself.

A few years he spent in Bolivia as an aviator missionary. He has been a pastor in Sweden, and he has supervised humanitarian help organizations. I’m proud to be wishing my tall “little” brother a happy birthday once more. He’s a treasure in God’s Kingdom. I’m so glad I prayed to have another brother. There would have been a big, empty hole in life if he hadn’t come along.

Lasse and his beautiful wife, Lilo, have four precious children, all married and with kids of their own. That gives me lots of nieces and nephews. What a great answer to prayer!

Lasse is not a burden—He’s my brother! Happy Birthday!

Youngest Oldest

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

