The Fishing Business

I was very excited a few days ago when one of the pictures came in from Costa Rica. The artist just outdid himself in illustrating Jesus calling James and John to follow him. They were in the fishing business with their father Zebedee but Jesus called them into a new and higher “fishing business,” to be fishers of men!

Fishers of men

I am also in that business. I was called by Jesus at age 10, when he showed me a vision of himself and brown-tanned children and asked if I wanted to go tell them of His love. Did I ever! Even to this day my passion is to reach children with the Gospel.

Tomorrow is my birthday. Seems like it was just yesterday I had a birthday. They sure come around quickly these days! I told you in my last blog about the early present my daughter has sent me. Let me tell you of my birthday at the time when she was using the walker I gave her!

We lived in Huancayo, Peru at that time. The young people at the church liked to come serenade us on our birthdays. It was nice but because of the late hour they could not find transportation home so usually my husband had to drive them. We lived a little ways outside of the city so at those early hours of a new day there was no public transportation.

One of the young people had a troubled past. He had even spent some time in prison. For church we met in a building close to the town square. The doors were open to the street and we always had someone standing at the door. One of the ladies that had this greeting ministry used to stand outside and urge those passing by to come in. When she invited this young man, he was not happy. How she did it I don’t know, but he came in to the service. He got saved and later all his family followed the Lord. It was a great victory for the Kingdom!

Flavio Hyo

What does that have to do with my birthday? Here it comes! That year, when my little girl still used her walker, I was very tired. In the wee hours before my birthday came the serenaders, and among them this young man, named Flavio. He was sorry, Flavio said, that he had no wrapped present for me, but he wanted to give me Psalm 92 as a present.

I started reading the Psalm and cried out for joy as I reached verse 10:

But you have exalted my horn like that of the wild ox;
    you have poured over me fresh oil. (ESV)

In the Spanish it reads, “You will increase my strength like that of the wild ox.” I felt a surge of energy fill me. It was the best present I could get! I’ll never forget it. That’s the kind of strength I needed. Praise God!

Today, as I am climbing towards the big 70 (it’s coming!), I take comfort from another part of this precious Psalm.

The righteous flourish like the palm tree
and grow like a cedar in Lebanon.
They are planted in the house of the Lord;
they flourish in the courts of our God.
They still bear fruit in old age;
they are ever full of sap and green,
 to declare that the Lord is upright;
he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him. (vs. 12-15)

What a wonderful promise! We still bear fruit in old age! That’s the best part! I saw in the news that the oldest person in the world, a lady in Japan, just had her 117th birthday. She doesn’t have a secret to her longevity, not like the lady I wrote about before. Her secret was to start each day with a happy heart.

My life is very busy these days. I have project upon project, all of them to fulfill my calling to reach children with the Gospel of Jesus, except…

I’ve started a blog to inspire for mission work by posting testimonies and experiences my parents have had in their mission work. Do you speak Swedish? Check this out: peruguld.wordpress.com

Do you want to improve your Spanish? Check this out: finoarte.wordpress.com

The main projects Cristina and I are working on are Queen Esther and The Life of Christ. There is always the usual weekly story, this week about a little girl who caused a chain of reactions by giving away a cup of cold water. Download the story: 44 A cup of cold water

I’m excited about celebrating one more year of miracles. When I get these projects done, hopefully I’ll get into writing about the 50 miracles I’ve planned to write about this year. That will be a miracle!

But the most important thing is the Fishing Business. Every Christian is called to be a “fisher of men.” My loved ones are at the top of the list. I thought of something the other day. What if God granted me only one request. What would I ask for? My request would be that my family and extended family, each one of them, would be together for eternity in the house of God. Nothing is worth more than salvation in Jesus.

What would your request be?

May we all be fishing for Jesus!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

