The Harry Potter Abomination

God has a way of timing things perfectly. In January I donated 78 books to LACLB for use on the mission field, among those quite a few complementary copies of books I have translated over the years. My friend Michelle, who handled the donation, brought back one of the books yesterday to show me a donor label she has put in the books, which “promote” some of my web sites.

I’m not writing all this for a pat on the back because of the donation, but as an introduction for what I’m about to say next. Of all the books Michelle could have picked to bring me a sample, she chose Harry Potter and the Bible (Spanish copy). I didn’t think much of it, other than I liked the donor label. Later that evening, I read a very disturbing post on FB. One of my brothers in Christ “boasted” that the first thing he watched on his new 40″ Sony Bravia was “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.”

I felt like I was hit with a ton of bricks, or should I rather say it felt like a sword pierced my heart. I’m in no way judging my brother, which by the way he asked that we don’t do. Why did he ask that? Did he have a check in his spirit that he should not have been watching that video? I’m sure this dear brother is not aware of the danger he is exposing himself to by bringing such things into his home.

It hurt me to the core, because the Bible very clearly warns against the things that happen in the Harry Potter books and movies. Anything that has to do with the occult is an abomination to the Lord. I cannot say this from the experience of reading the books or watching the movies, but from translating the book by Richard Abanes “Harry Potter and the Bible,” published by Horizon Books ©2002. This book explains about the occult that is so prevalent in the HP books.

As I’ve just said, of all the books Michelle could have picked for me to see, it was the Harry Potter book, a clear reminder from the Lord to warn about soiling our hearts and minds with something that is detestable to God. I feel the need to warn fellow believers about the dangers of “playing” with the occult.

I’ll just put some scriptures here and let you read for yourself. The Holy Spirit is the one who is set to convict us of sin, righteousness and judgment (see John 16:7-11). I have only been prompted by the Lord to write this warning. We have to be so careful about what we feed our spirit. If we feel a need to watch a movie, lets’ pick something that will lift us up, something that we could invite Jesus to sit and watch with us on the couch. I seriously doubt anybody would want to invite Him for a HP movie.

Shine your light

Read and reflect. These are a few scriptures that show the things that are very displeasing to God. We are to be a people separated from the practices of the world, but we are put in the world to be a light. We are also to be salt. If we cover our light, how will we shine? And if the salt loses its saltines, how is it to be made salty again? (See Matthew 5:13-16.)

Scripture references using the English Standard Version

Galatians 5:19-21
Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, 20 idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, 21 envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

Deuteronomy 18:10-12
“There shall not be found among you anyone who burns his son or his daughter as an offering, anyone who practices divination or tells fortunes or interprets omens, or a sorcerer 11 or a charmer or a medium or a necromancer or one who inquires of the dead, 12 for whoever does these things is an abomination to the Lord.”

Leviticus 19:26b, 31
“You shall not interpret omens or tell fortunes. 31Do not turn to mediums or necromancers; do not seek them out, and so make yourselves unclean by them: I am the Lord your God.”

Leviticus 20:6,7
“If a person turns to mediums and necromancers, whoring after them, I will set my face against that person and will cut him off from among his people. 7 Consecrate yourselves, therefore, and be holy, for I am the Lord your God.”

Leviticus 20:27
“A man or a woman who is a medium or a necromancer shall surely be put to death. They shall be stoned with stones; their blood shall be upon them.”

Exodus 22:18
“You shall not permit a sorceress to live.”

Ephesians 4:20-24
But that is not the way you learned Christ!— 21 assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus, 22 to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

Romans 13:11-14
Besides this you know the time, that the hour has come for you to wake from sleep. For salvation is nearer to us now than when we first believed. 12 The night is far gone; the day is at hand. So then let us cast off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13 Let us walk properly as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and sensuality, not in quarreling and jealousy. 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.

Let’s flee from evil!

 

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Warnings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

