The Miracle Coat and my Latest Miracle

This happened in August 1968. I was in Sweden visiting churches to raise support to go back to Peru as a missionary. Now is not the time to talk about all that was involved in the situation I was facing. One thing is for sure, my Heavenly Father did not abandon me, and eventually I was able to raise the needed funds. I even found myself a husband in the process! But on this occasion I was very lonely and very abandoned!

Browsing in a coat shop I found the perfect one for the upcoming winter, just the color I loved. I went to the room at the church where I was staying and prayed about it. The next day I took a leap of faith and put the coat on hold. This was in the middle of the week. On Saturday I was leaving town and I wanted to take the coat with me. But no money came in. I took every penny, no not pennies, but crowns I could find and take from my savings. It was exactly what I needed: 439 crowns. I went and got me the coat!

Then I realized I had no money to get from the church to the train station. It was getting close to the time of the scheduled train from Orebro leaving for my services in Tidan, where I was preaching over the weekend. I took my luggage and situated myself outside on the side-walk, praying to God someone would come to help me. I had quite a few things since I was moving south to live with my sister who was studying in Malmo. Someone came by and said I must have great faith who thought I would get to the train with all the things I had! I was about to cry! But someone else, with a compassionate heart, came by and drove me to the train station. I was hungry but the few crowns left only got me some fruit.

After several complicated changes of trains I finally arrived in Tidan. By the way, that is the church that has stood by us through thick and thin. Every time I go to Sweden, I visit them.

Miracle coat

When I prayed to God for the coat, I asked for 500 crowns, so that I would have enough money to also give my tithes. After the service in the evening, a lady handed me an envelope. Guess what was in it? Five crisp 100 crown bills! “It’s an adventure every time I get a coat,” I wrote in a letter to my parents telling them this story. It was an adventure because the coat cost like a month’s worth of earnings! But what a blessing it was. You can see on the picture that it was perfect for me later when I had my pregnancies. Of course, when I bought the coat I didn’t even have a boyfriend! He came along a little later and then after our marriage came the girls. God knew that I would need a spacious coat! So He gave me this one.

I was living by faith. At the beginning of August I had only 16 crowns. At the end of August I had 1,650. God supplied for me. I was traveling visiting churches and I needed money for the tickets. Room and board they would give me where I came.

That coat was such a special miracle. Many, many more would come. Both coats and miracles!

The other day I got another miracle. I have some children I sponsor in Huancayo, Peru. They put another girl on my list, MILAGROS. That’s my latest miracle! Milagros is “miracles” in Spanish. Here she is, in her school uniform: Milagros Araujo Obragu.

Milagros Hyo

Milagros homework

Doing homework on the family bed, the only place available.

The family

They are 10 children in the family, seven living at home

Milagro’s mother is a widow. They have a small home of their own, but no money for doors or windows, so they cover them with plastic to protect them from the cold. It is cold up in the Andes Mountains! Three siblings are old enough to be on their own but Milagro’s mother has seven children to care for. Together with her older children she goes out at night looking for plastic bottles they can recycle and get some money for.

Years ago my parents opened a feeding station in Huancayo, to help children like Milagros get a good meal each day. That’s where Milagros and her siblings get a nutritious meal on week days.

So Milagros is my latest miracle. Please pray for her and her family. Another day I will share with you about the other children I sponsor. Maybe you would like to help?

MilagrosMilagros showing me some of the things she has received.

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years, Miracles, Provision and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

