Believe in Miracles

“Worship the Lord your God, and He will bless your bread and your water.” Exodus 23:25

I have a vivid memory of the time “discovered” this Bible verse. Our family had moved from Huancayo, Peru, to the town of Chaclacayo. There was a problem in the house we rented… water shortage! My brother Lars and some of his friends had accompanied us to help with the move. One of his friends was Marco. He’s the father of Cristina, who works with me doing the illustrations for our stories. It’s kind of amazing! At that time he had not yet met Cristina’s mom!

One morning, after breakfast, we had our usual Bible reading and prayer time. It was my turn to read. We read Exodus 23. When I got to verse 25, “Worship the Lord your God, and He will bless your bread and your water,” I screamed and cheered. It was as if God spoke directly to me from heaven, saying not to worry, that He would bless our water. And as long as we live in that house, we did not lack water. It had been worrisome because we had two little girls and my husband was often gone on mission trips. How would I get water? God supplied it!

God also provided the bread. We didn’t know where we would get the money to pay the rent; but God also took care of that matter. A business man, friend to my parents, helped us. He had been very kind to me years earlier, when someone tricked me and stole a typewriter we had on consignment in our Christian bookstore. I’ll save that story for another day.

PanchitaMy story this week is about a village that was in desperate need of rain or their crops would be ruined. Everybody decided to get together and pray for rain.

The Bible tells us about Elijah, a man with a nature like ours. “He prayed fervently that it might not rain, and for three years and six months it did not rain on the earth. Then he prayed again, and heaven gave rain, and the earth bore its fruit” (James 5:17,18).

We can pray for rain! In this village they all prayed, but only one really believed it would rain. That girl took her umbrella with her to church! When they went home later in the evening, God had already answered their prayers. She was the only one that didn’t get wet walking home!

As I prayed for the story and what I should write in my blog to the teachers, this is what God impressed on my heart:

“Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.” Mark 11:24,25

Mark 11 2425

We often stop at ASKING, BELIEVING, and RECEIVING, but there is another very important component… to FORGIVE!

In the Lord’s Prayer we ask God to forgive us, as we forgive those who wrong us. Jesus even said that when we come to the altar with our offering, and remember someone that has something against us, we need to go and set that record straight. See Matthew 5:23-26. How many times should we forgive? Seven times? No! Don’t keep counting. Just forgive! See Matthew 18:21,22.

The question in my previous blog was, “Do you believe?” I didn’t realize that I would build on that theme. My purpose this year is to write about miracles. I am so busy writing stories and lessons I don’t get to the miracles very often. But the greatest miracle is that I’m doing this–writing stories and lessons! When I see that thousands of people are accessing my blogs I can’t marvel enough. So I put everything else aside and concentrate on teaching the Word to children, through theirs parents and teachers. I have found a treasure, something I can do even when I’m confined to my home. Here is the latest picture from my artist in Costa Rica. I feel as happy as the woman who found her lost coin!

Believe in miracles! God has those in store for you, too!

Moneda encontrada

ASK

BELIEVE

RECEIVE

FORGIVE

 

Top of Form

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years, Faith, Forgiveness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

