The Man Who Understood Me

I was on a mission of finding a husband. My parents had a church and a bookstore in Huancayo, Peru and they needed a break. I was their only hope for that break, but as a young 22-year-old to be left alone with that responsibility was all but wise. I needed a husband!

I had completed my first mission term and went to Sweden in hopes of acquiring financial support for another term and also hoping to find a husband. My parents were praying hard for that. That was also my prayer.

I attended Bible school in Stockholm that fall. On one of our prayer and fasting days, when my biggest request was that I find a husband, I received this promise:

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him. 1 John 5:14,15 ESV

I jumped for joy! I didn’t know it, but my future husband was also at the Bible school. In one of the services that he participated, I declared, “That’s the last man on earth I would want to marry!” But he was the one God had chosen for me.

After Bible school I visited churches for mission services. Since God had given me the promise that my prayer was heard, I figured I would meet “my man” in one of the churches because he’d have to be a preacher. So everywhere I went my question was, “Is he the one?” But the pastors I met were all married.

One weekend I was scheduled to have services in Växjö. The last man on earth that I wanted to marry was the assistant pastor. The pastor and his wife talked to me about him, bragging about him, but all their talking did not spark any interest in me.

I had my mission service on Sunday and then on Monday I was asked to talk about Peru to some schoolchildren that were to visit the church. Afterwards the pastor told me to stay and talk to Bengt, the assistant pastor. And I did. That evening changed my life!

The pastor was sneaky. He must have planned and hoped something would happen because he parked his car blocking mine. After our short visit at the church I was going to leave and my car was blocked.

The young man who understood

Bengt invited me to take a walk around the park. Växjö has a big park in the middle of town, so we walked. And we talked. For some reason I felt comfortable with Bengt and started opening up to him. I had had some very disheartening experiences and felt very misunderstood. For everything that I said, Bengt would say, “I understand!”

The last man on earth that I wanted to marry understood me! And that’s when I started to fall in love with him! I was raised in South America and coming to Sweden was like a culture chock. I was misunderstood. The worst struggle for me was that the pastor of my home church had told me that they could not help me. “If you want to go back to the mission field you’re on your own!” were the most disheartening words someone could have said to me. That is what I confided in Bengt.

After an hours walk in the park we went back to the church and the pastor had moved his car. I invited Bengt to come with me to the home that hosted me, because we were going to watch some movies I had from Peru. That evening Bengt fell in love with the children of Peru!

That’s the beginning of my love story! To find somebody that understood me was such a miracle!

From that evening things progressed high speed. A month later we were engaged; two weeks after that I left for Peru. Later Bengt came. Five months after that evening in the park we were married! It’s nothing I recommend. We hardly knew each other. But we were destined for each other and with God’s help we made it work. For 38 years I had a man by my side who understood me. Now he’s been gone for seven years. One day soon we’ll meet again.

I’ll spend eternity with the man who understood me!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

