Cinco de Mayo

Cincon de Mayo

Cinco is five (5) in Spanish. Cinco de Mayo is not Mexico’s Independence Day. As I read on Wikipedia it’s a day to commemorate the “unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1982.”

This day is celebrated in the United States and in Mexico. I want to celebrate by introducing you to one of my latest “fans.” That doesn’t sound very humble, does it? How can I explain it? She loves my teaching materials and she’s been writing me long emails and sending pictures.

Pilar

This is Pilar with her beautiful children. If she’s my “fan” I’m hers. She teaches preschool children in Sunday school. I guess I like her so much because she reminds me of myself. She’s got all these ideas she implements in her class and then she sends them to me. I have a special file for them so I can later incorporate them with the lessons.

MEX children

Daniel br

MEX lions

The pictures are from when they studied lessons on Daniel. Cristina made nice certificates for them. By the way, if you’re a teacher and would like to have certificates for your kids when you finish a series of lesson, we can make them for you. We would send you a jpg or a pdf and then you could print them. Here’s the sample of a certificate. Just send me the information in a comment. We’d be happy to do it. For free!

reconocimiento daniel3

I’m busy, “busy as a bee”! That was just explained in one of the lessons I’m translating. Every quarter I translate lessons for orphans and children at risk, and they are primarily for Mexico. How awesome is that?!

I better get on with my lessons because they have to be turned in next week. Have I mentioned how blessed I am to have that job? I pass on my earnings to my artists Absalom and Cristina. Praise God this provision!

Do you know that in Mexico they eat what we step on? That was the first time I heard about “tacos.” Dad was visiting Mexico and sent us that information on a postcard. We were living in Peru and had never heard about tacos. That’s not a food they eat in Peru. I guess they do now, but not back then, 50 years ago. Taco means “heel.” That’s my little contribution for tuning a frown into a smile. But you’re not frowning, are you? I can “see” the smile on your face. Pass it on!

Have a great Cinco de Mayo!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

