The Best Mother’s Day Gift

Mother’s Day is bitter-sweet. I love it, especially because the last few years I have been able to spend it with my daughter and her family. And every year, days before, we celebrate a most precious gift from heaven, our princess Sarah. But at the same time this day brings back memories of those who are not with us. I miss my mother and I miss my daughter, but I rejoice because I know they are safe in the hands of God.

I also think of those who wish they were mothers and never had that privilege. And I think of mothers who don’t have their children with them. When I rejoice over my gifts, I want to pray for those who wished they had children and grandchildren. My greetings go to all of you.

Happy Mothers Day

We celebrated Sarah’s birthday with her friends at school. There was no rain so the teacher had the kids sit outside. It was enjoyable to be with the little kids for a while. In the evening some of her friends came over for dinner and a fun sleep-over. I tried to get some good pictures but my Sarah was in a playful mood, so she just wanted to do funny faces.

Here are some pictures.

Sarahs 7 bday

Top right: celebration at school.
Bottom left: birthday cake that Sarah’s sister and her friend decorated.
Bottom right: Sarah reading the Bible I gave her.

Sarahs Funny FacesFunny girl with funny faces

We have had “bad” weather. Why do we call it “bad” when it really is good that we get rain? The bad part was that it messed up our internet service so I haven’t been able to post what I had planned. Now it’s late evening and this will have to do for my greeting. I have two of my grandchildren sleeping with me tonight. They always want to take turns doing that. What better gift for Mother’s Day than to be surrounded by those we love!

I’m a perfectionist, and this blog seems all but “perfect,” but I can’t let that bother me. At least the internet service came back so I can send off this greeting.

If you’re a mother,
I hope you have a great day.

If you’re not a mother,
I also wish you a great day.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Mothers, My grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

