Mission with a Vision

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” Acts 1:8

Pentecost is a great mission celebration! The greatest!

Jesus promise to send the Holy Spirit was fulfilled on the Day of Pentecost. From that day on the gospel message has spread to the ends of the earth. But there are still many people and people groups who have not heard the Good News.

One of the first missionaries, along with Peter, Paul and the other apostles was Thomas. We don’t read about his missionary endeavors in the Bible but in history books. Thomas went as a missionary to India. Find the story about Thomas the missionary under Stories for Children on my page for Free Resources: MX1414.wordpress.com.

India was a big mission field then; India is still a big mission field. On 1 July, 2014 India’s population reached 1,267,401,849. That is 17.5% of the world’s population, India being the second country in the world with the most per capita population. In ten more years India is projected to be the most populous country in the world.

India has more than 2,000 ethnic groups. It has 386 people per km2. My beloved Peru, for example, has 24 per km2.

Half its population is under the age of 25. What a challenge! What a mission field! For quite a while I have had my sight on doing all my teaching materials also in English (Spanish is my focus). India has now become a great target for me. Would you help me pray for a great and open the door? I need helpers to fulfill the vision and I need to know the best way to accomplish it.

Thomas the MIssionary

It is believed that Thomas the Apostle spent twenty years in India, founding seven churches. He died a martyr! According to what we read in history books all the apostles became martyrs. For them it was an honor to suffer for Jesus. When the apostles were beaten and put in prison for preaching the Gospel and then threatened not to speak in Jesus’ Name, they rejoiced.

Then they left the presence of the council, rejoicing that they were counted worthy to suffer dishonor for the name. Acts 5:41

Pentecost will lead you to “mission with a vision”! With the Holy Spirit’s power and inspiration, we can reach to every corner of the earth with the powerful message of Jesus.

I’m excited after reading about Thomas. God led him in the opposite direction of where he took Paul. Phillip the evangelist was led into the desert road leading from Jerusalem to Gaza to teach the Gospel and baptize an Ethiopian man, who then carried it to Africa. (Acts 8:26-39)

I’m excited about the new, big goal for Royal Palm World Mission. Ever since my youth I’ve been fascinated by the Father of Modern Missions, William Carey. “Expect great things from God. Attempt great things for God,” was his motto.

Expect great things

Peter, Paul, John, Thomas, Philip, Stephen, Barnabas, Timothy, Silas… All these missionaries from the first decades after Jesus sent the Holy Spirit on Pentecost paved the road for us. We just follow in their footsteps and continue the mission, with vision, until Jesus comes back.

What can we do?
• Go
• Pray
• Give
• Write

I’m writing! I spend on average 12-14 hours a day working on Bible lessons and stories. My focus is the Spanish-speaking world. Now the Lord is broadening my horizons. It’s been three years since He spoke to me about doing the lessons also in English. There have been some rough patches on the road since then.

Now He is giving me a focus: India! With the big population of that nation and half of them being children and youth, it spurs me on to get busy with the English part of my mission with a vision. (As if I wasn’t busy already!)

How this all this start, about India? One of the lessons I translated for orphans and children at risk was about Thomas going as a missionary to India. It inspired me to write the story about Thomas the Missionary. From then on India has been gaining momentum in my life.

Pray with me for India and the thousand million people there who need Jesus.

In the United States we now celebrate Memorial Weekend. In the Christian world we celebrate Pentecost.

May this Pentecost Sunday turn your heart once again to the mission Jesus has given us, to go into all the world and preach the Gospel.

May we do mission with a vision!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Royal Palm World Mission and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

