We Were All Survivors

I’m spending a few days of vacation with my daughter and her children. I better not call them “kids” as I usually do, because I was informed that kids are goats. Three of them are tweens and then we have the little one who has reached the respectable age of seven!

At the Titanic

Today we decided to tour the Titanic, a museum in Branson, Missouri that depicts the ocean-liner from a century ago that was supposed to be unsinkable, but still sunk. It was fun for the kiddos (I wasn’t supposed to call them that) because we each got a boarding pass with a name of a passenger. Then we had to find out if we survived or drowned. David and I got to be First Class passengers.

I was Madeleine Astor, a resident of New York City. My daughter Carina got to be a lady from Sweden. Madeleine and her husband were the most talked about couple on Titanic. She was only 18 and pregnant; he was twice her age. They honeymooned in Egypt, but when the news about the baby came they booked passage home on Titanic. As I said, she survived!

All of us: Carina, David, Lana, Brianna, Sarah, and Yours Truly were survivors. We were rescued and survived from the sinking ship!

For those of you who have the possibility to visit Branson, I recommend this attraction. It’s wheel-chair accessible. Brianna was my “driver.”

The kiddos (there I go again!) have been going swimming. That’s a good way to wear-off some energy. We have also done some projects. Two of the girls have helped me color some of the characters for the story of Queen Esther. My assistant Cristina has done a good job in setting them up. See here!

Coloreando personajes

Sarah is holding up Queen Vashti. The picture is done in four letter-size papers glued together. This is just one of several fun projects I have for the Bible story about Esther. Did you know that Ester s the only book in the Bible where the name of God is not mentioned? Forgive me if I’ve mentioned this before, but better twice than none. Even if God’s name is not mentioned, you can see His handiwork throughout the book.

I don’t have this material in English, but for those who want to check it out in Spanish, here is the link: La Reina Ester

We have a saying in Swedish that if you don’t have anything to do, you find yourself something. My two “twin” grandchildren sure did!

IMG_2913

This box of letters was something I had organized in separate little bags, letter by letter, style by style. While some of us were busy working on the Esther project, some others thought it would be a good idea to empty out all the bags. All my hard work of sorting, gone! Guess what? Now they have to redo what they undid! I hope they learn their lesson. Or maybe I need to learn a lesson? Don’t let “kiddos” play with your beads!

We all know how children are. You never know what their active minds will come up with. Now they are all little angels, each one asleep in a bed. Even my “baby” is sleeping! What a job she has! Brianna sent her off yesterday so she could have some “alone” time. That’s when the mishap with the beads happened! What will happen tomorrow when we send my “baby” off to have some more “alone” time?

I better get some sleep to get ready to tackle another day with my grandchildren. Twelve years ago, when the oldest ones were on their way, I had so much more energy. I guess I have to accept that I can’t be forever young; but I can still be young at heart.

It hurts not to be able to move as I used to; but I know I’m not the only one who has that problem. But the children are very understanding. Today they had a fire-alarm practice at the hotel. It had us all scrambling to our feet! It was so interesting to hear the conversations afterwards. David was considering what they should do with me if  a fire happened for real. He concluded that they would probably have to carry me out!

Another interesting conversation was with 7-year-old Sarah. We were talking about my not-so-flexible condition anymore. I told her she would get old some day and maybe face the same problems. She so much wished I could be with her then, but she understood that it was not going to be possible. We concluded that it probably was better that I not live that long, because then I would be VERY old.

We will part Sarah and I, and I will part from the kids (I can’t help but call them kids!). As Christians we have a wonderful hope. We will meet again. When we say good-bye to our loved ones, it’s only like saying, “See you later!” It still hurts to think of leaving them. I hope I can see my grandchildren as they grow up.

And I so wish that everyone who reads my blog has the hope of eternal life. Jesus is that hope!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

