Sweden’s National Day

This is the day to honor my country of birth. I’m attaching here one of the “icons” representing some of the fun: Pippi Longstocking! Astrid Lindgren was an amazing author of children’s books. Find the story of Pippi and read it or see it on video, and any other book by this author.

Swediens national day

Swedish heritage

We spent a few years in Sweden when our girls were at the age they truly enjoyed Pippi and other Astrid Lindgren stories. This is one of the Swedish heritages they took with them. Another thing that we kept as “holy” in our home was the Swedish language. Traditions, not so much, because I had not grown up in Sweden, but still we had a few Swedish things going on.

One tradition I’m passing on to my grandchildren is the lighting of the Advent candles. You have four candles and light one every Sunday, four weeks before Christmas. The candle holder has been with us since  those years we spent in Sweden when the girls were small. On the picture the kids are having rice pudding. That is a tradition my daughter is carrying over. My grandchildren and son-in-law like it so much they have it all year for Sunday breakfast!

Second advent 2014

My life away from Sweden started when I was two years old. I am bringing out a treasured picture that shows the start of my life’s adventure in the Americas. The boy is Julio, the captain’s son of the ship we made the voyage on. This is one of the cutest pictures I have of me as a child.

Starting the adventure

When I describe myself I usually say I’m a Swede with a Peruvian heart. That’s where I’ve spent most of my South American life. In Chile, 6 years; in Bolivia, 4 years; in Peru 17 years. It should count for the Peruvian heart!

SA in my heart

Then comes the longest period in my life, with a new homeland.That’s where I am now.

I remember this 6th of June celebration in Bolivia, in 1988, when my heart was set on the new calling from God, to move to the United States. The Swedish National Anthem has these words: “I want to live and die in the North (Sweden is very much north).” I could not sing it, because my heart was set on new horizons. Today I can sing it, but will  probably not carry it out, because there is something that ties me to this country.

My new homeland

My jewels 2015

You probably guessed it! These are my jewels. I wrote yesterday about my “clinging” little daughter, that would not leave my side. Now I “cling” to her and the kids. I miss Sweden. I miss my family and friends I have there. But these children are the continuation of my life with a Swedish guy, Bengt Lundquist, and I can’t think of leaving them.

I will just have to live with the memories of the 10 years all together spent in the country of my birth. From here goes out the message of the love of God through my ministry of Royal Palm World Mission. This is the English branch, which is barely getting started. The main Spanish page is hermanamargarita.com

The World my Missions field

These are just some scattered thoughts on a day I would have loved to spend with family and friends. My life with Soledad (Loneliness) has been very difficult this week, but I’ve had my BFF Brianna (grandchild) to talk to. How she wishes I could live close by so we could visit in person. When I told her I was very lonely she said, “Why don’t you just drive over?” I wish it was that easy, but 200 miles separate us. If it wasn’t for the neuropathy I probably would.

One more thing about this day. I just found out it’s my artist Absalom’s birthday. How great! You’ve seen some of his illustrations here on and on, but in honor of his birthday, let me add another one as an incentive of faith. Peter and his friends had been fishing all night with no results. In the morning Jesus appeared at the beach, and told them to throw the net on the other side. What a big catch they got: 153 large fish.

Big catchI’m thankful to Sweden, because of the support of churches there I have been “fishing” many years in South America. Now I’m throwing the net on the other side, so to speak. I’m using the internet. Well,  little by little my story will be told. I’m so busy with publishing Bible lessons and stories for children my book-writing is on the back burner. But one blog at a time it will be written.

Thanks for hearing me out. I thank God for every “blog-friend” I have. May God bless you in abundance.

God bless Sweden!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

