Trust in the Lord Forever

Trust forever

This is the view I have when I sit outside reading my Bible

I want to share with you a short testimony my assistant Cristina sent me. It reminds us of the power of prayer.

Cristina’s mother’s cousin lives in Huancayo, Peru. She was traveling to the capital city of Lima when she suffered an accident. The car she was traveling in collided with a trailer. The car literally split in two; miraculously nobody died.

Two days before the accident Cristina’s mother was very distressed and worried, unable to sleep. She did not understand why, so she just prayed about the anxiety she felt. Then came the sad news of her cousin’s accident. Her cousin had a big cut and has had to have fifteen stitches on her forehead. Her legs are badly broken and will be operated on. The accident was reported in the newspapers. The car is totally destroyed; it’s incredible that nobody died. Almost every day there are accidents with fatalities in that area, which is La Oroya.

By the way, La Oroya is where my daughters were born. That is also the place were Edita, my Dad’s wife’s sister was killed in an accident a few years ago. So when I hear that name my heart beats a little faster.

Cristina says, “I think my mom’s prayers reached heaven.”

Now her mom is very worried about her cousin, and she’s afraid she will be confined to a wheelchair.

“That was the miracle of the week,” writes Cristina in her Friday report. The survival of the passengers in the car is surely a miracle.

Have you ever had urges to pray and didn’t understand why?

When we lived in Tarma when I was a teenager, my father was poisoned because of a cut on his finger with a rusty nail of some sort. My mother was in Sweden visiting her very sick and dying mother. Dad and us kids were alone and the poison was quickly moving to the heart. I can’t tell you the details because he kept those to himself. I guess he didn’t want to worry us. But a miracle happened and he survived.

Mom met a lady that was very much interested in their mission work and prayed for them. She asked what had happened to my Dad. And then she told Mom how she had such strong urges to pray for him. They compared noted about the dates, and it was exactly when Dad had that poison of the blood.

There were other instances when she was compelled to pray because of some dire situation. She was a very sweet lady, and she took on the burden of praying for me when I started my missionary journey as an 18-year old.

Trust in the Lord forever,” was my reading today, in Isaiah 26. That is what I want to inspire us all to do.

God could have prevented the accident, you might say. Sure, He could have done that. But the accident was bound to happen. He knew that. So God put a burden on Cristina’s mother’s heart to pray. She didn’t know who or what she was praying for. Those prayers saved her cousin’s life.

I can’t write more now because I am expecting visitors. Not very often these days do I get to have my family with me. It will just be a short visit. My grandchildren are on their way to spend a week with their Grandma Kathy. She will pick them up here, so I get to see them. I’m excited!

I’ll “see” you next week again through another blog.

Be blessed! Trust in the Lord forever!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Celebrating 50 Years and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

