God’s Friend

Can something more beautiful be said of someone than that he/she is God’s friend? Do you think that someone can be called God’s friend?

I started meditating on this beautiful expression during my Bible reading this morning.

But you, Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
the offspring of Abraham, my friend;
you whom I took from the ends of the earth,
and called from its farthest corners,
saying to you, “You are my servant,
I have chosen you and not cast you off”;
10 fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
Isaiah 41:8-10 ESV

There is a song called “I am a friend of God.” Parts of the lyrics say, “God calls me friend.” But is that true? Can anybody sing that song? I think not!

We are all God’s children by creation. He made us! But not everyone belongs to God’s family; only those who have been adopted through the precious sacrifice of Jesus Christ.

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 15 For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” 16 The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, 17 and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.
Romans 8:14-17 ESV

I call God my “Abba! Father!” –my Daddy! That is so precious; but can I call him my Friend, or rather, can He call me friend?

Abraham Gods Friend

Abraham was God’s friend because God knew he could count on him, that he would commands his children and his household to walk in the ways of the Lord. And Abraham had a BIG household.

When his nephew Lot was in trouble he called out 318 of his trained men, born in his house, and went out to rescue him.

That was only the men. Think of all the women and children that represented.

Another time, when the city were Lot lived was in trouble–when God was going to destroy Sodom and Gomorrah—He could not hide from “His Fiend” what He was about to do.

The Lord said, “Shall I hide from Abraham what I am about to do, 18 seeing that Abraham shall surely become a great and mighty nation, and all the nations of the earth shall be blessed in him? 19 For I have chosen him, that he may command his children and his household after him to keep the way of the Lord by doing righteousness and justice, so that the Lord may bring to Abraham what he has promised him.”
Genesis 18:17-19 ESV

There is a condition to being God’s friend. Jesus told his disciples about it. “You are my friends if you do what I command you,” He said (John 15:14).

Am I qualified to be called God’s Friend? That is the big question I’m meditating on. I want to be called God’s Friend. I love to be his child. I am happy to be his servant. I love to serve the Lord!

But I want to be such an obedient child and servant that I can be called His Friend.

How about you?

“Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”—and he was called a friend of God.
James 2:23 ESV

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends, God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

