A Pleasant Surprise

Yesterday I had a pleasant surprise. My grandchildren and their parents came to spent the night with me on their way home from a week’s vacation. I hadn’t expected it, since they were planning on taking another route home. Such joy!

St Louis Arch 2015

One of the vacation spots was the St. Louis Arch. For David it was a big accomplishment. He was proud that he had conquered his fear of heights! People with autism have many issues to deal with. David has Aspergers; it puts him on different spectrum. He has his special issues.

David latest focus of interest is card-playing. He collects card games from every place he visits. He’s trying to teach me to play. I love that boy. He wrote in my Guest Book that he has a Super Grandma. He even drew a picture of me flying in the sky with my “super” outfit!

With David June 27 2015Photo: Brianna Cole

When I grew up we were not allowed to play these cards. I can understand my parents wanting to shield us. Those were considered “worldly” cards. When I first saw David playing with these cards it was a little hard for me to accept it. But he is so happy with his cards. He can play by himself and they help his needs. So I’m happy to play these cards with him. It gives him alone-time with his mormor (grandma in Swedish). But he has a long time ago “graduated” to call me Miss Lundquist. And now even the little one calls me that.

As I’m writing, I’m listening to an interview on TV and perk up as I hear a question about bitterness, because of a difficult childhood. Don’t misunderstand me here. I did not have a difficult childhood, other than struggling with my shyness and all the attention my “not-shy-at-all” sister got. The interviewed person said something I want to pass on. Here it is:

bitterness hurts

You’ve probably heard it being said, “Don’t get bitter, get better.” Once in my life I had experiences that had all the ingredients for me to get bitter, and I must have displayed symptoms, because a friend I confided in warned me, “Be careful so you don’t get bitter.”

I praise God that he helped me to forgive. At one time I have written about this, how I could stand in front of the people who were a part of the hurt in my heart and sing a song about forgiveness. It was a moment of grace. God in his mercy helped me forgive and I am not bitter.

I got off track. I was going to write about the pleasant surprise I had for a few hours, from last night to this morning. Just a short time-span can make a world of difference.

Projects June 27 2015

Here is each one busy with a project. Sarah is coloring one of my Bible-story pictures, David is playing with his cards, Lana has set up a game of Bibleopoly, and Brianna is writing fun notes.

Let me tell you of a “project” I had 34 years ago. I was living in Peru and a friend in Sweden asked me to help her find a child to adopt. I was very busy in the ministry and didn’t have time to go looking for a child and then doing all the paperwork, but I promised that if God miraculously sent me a child I would help her. It merits a blog by itself to tell the story, and I will write about it. For now I will just say that this week, the child that I helped to be adopted has met his birth-mother in Lima, Peru. And I have been a significant link. I feel overjoyed and humbled that God chose me to be a part of this big miracle.

To be exact, my grandchildren were here 19 hours. Those hour filled my loneliness with such joy I will live on it for a while. In a couple of weeks I will have one or two of them visit for a few days. It would have been a breeze ten years ago, but age takes its toll. My health issues are a struggle, but I want to have my grandchildren here, and by God’s grace I will make it.

Heading home June 27 2015

Here they are, all buckled-up to go home. David is already busy working with Sudoku. And I am left with the memory of some happy hours.

The kids June 27 2015

What can I say? I am very blessed to have these children.

Grandchildren are the crown of the aged.
Proverbs 17:6

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

