Weak all Week

Yes, that has been my week. Weak all week! Yesterday I went to the doctor to see if we could figure out the problem. I am in between doctors, but I got to see a nurse practitioner. He was very nice and concerned about me, reminding me that I’m approaching the age that is considered a life complete. So he mentioned concern for my heart.

The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty;
yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away.
Psalm 90:10

My heart… it could be my heart. I could get a heart attack. I went to have tests done at the same place I used to take my daughter and then my husband. Now there is no one to take me places, just myself!

Why have I been so weak all week? Maybe when the test results come back there will be a clue. The Apostle Paul did not escape feeling weak. I was reminded of his situation in my time of devotion this morning.

To keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:7-10

weak then strong

Now you know why I’ve been “silent” all week. I’ve been weak! I wish I could say it’s better. I had so been looking forward to this coming week, because my beautiful Sarah was coming to spend time with me. Now, because I’m weak, there will be no week with Sarah. Summer vacation is soon over for her as school starts again in August. I hope my strength comes back so I can have Sarah visit me before that.

I keep repeating Paul’s words: WHEN I AM WEAK, THEN I AM STRONG. My soon to be 70-year-old body doesn’t want to agree with my still 20-year-old mind and spirit. I feel young and strong and ready to conquer the world fro Jesus. Why, dear body, do you not cooperate?

That’s life! How hard it is to recognize that the body is getting old. But it hits us all.

We have only one life,
it will soon be past.

Only what’s done for Christ will last.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Aging, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

