Children and Extremes

It’s fascinating to me how children can bounce from one extreme to the other in matter of seconds. One moment there will be tears and desperation and the next, they can laugh at their heart’s content. Once, we all had that ability. Why can’t we keep the heart of a child as we grow into adulthood? No wonder Jesus said we have to be like children to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Humble and open to receive!

Fantastic Caverns girls

Here are the girl who are vacationing with me this week. Let me tell you the story behind this picture and the title for my blog. Today was our day for “discovering,” as Brianna put it on our schedule. We went to one of the attractions Springfield has to offer.

This will be a picture gallery, since it is quite late and I need to rest up for another intense day. We went to Fantastic Caverns, one of the 6,000 known caves in the state of Missouri.

Fan Caverns 7

Fan Caverns 1

The ride to the cavern was very exciting, especially for Sarah, because for her the hilly road was like a roller-coaster. So far so good!

Fan Caverns 0

The girls and I are sitting in the front.

When Sarah realized what kind of adventure this was, she was terrified. Mostly, I think, because of the weather. We were hit with very heavy rain and thunder. We tried to convince her that the cave was the safest place to be in a thunderstorm or an earthquake. But she didn’t believe us!

Fan Caverns 3

Here is my precious little girl clutching the little bunny my friend Yolanda gave her yesterday. I had already paid the tickets so we had to just stick it out. Brianna was doing her best to convince her sister of how much fun it would be. I held her close to my heart. The poor little girl was trembling. The tour guide tried to encourage her, but no, she just wanted to get off. Not even the story of how the cave was discovered excited Sarah.

Fan Caverns 6

Fan Caverns 5

But once we started seeing these beautiful formations Sarah was able to relax. Maybe it was the promise from the tour guide that he would point out a bat that made her overcome her fears. It didn’t take long before she was laughing en enjoying the ride. Yes, we rode through the cave!

Fan Caverns 8

Because of the 6,000 caves Missouri is sometimes called the Cave State. I wish I could tell you all the interesting detail the Guide talked about, but those are already forgotten. I’m a Senior, you know! My times of remembering those kinds of details are long gone. And my purpose today was just to enjoy being with my girls, and for them to enjoy the drive through the cave.

Fan Caverns 9

Children and extremes. One moment Sarah was trembling with fear for the cave, and for fear that it would cave in if thunder struck. Next thing we know, she is begging to go on a second tour!

Fan Caverns 10

Fan Caverns 11

Fantastic Caverns

Now look at this face!

Fan Caverns 4

That’s what fascinates me! First terrified and crying, then excited and happy. All in matter of minutes! Wouldn’t it be nice if we could keep the spirit of a child all through the years?

Fan Caverns 2

I’ll sign off with a picture of Brianna. If things go as planned, tomorrow she will learn to cook my favorite Peruvian dish: “lomo saltado.”

May you be blessed!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

