Emotional Stress Healed

A couple of days ago I was weak, with tightness in my chest and shortness of breath. I went to the doctor and had all kinds of tests done. The saddest part of all was that I had to cancel the visit I was going to have of my granddaughter Sarah.

On Sunday morning I barely made it to church. I went to a church where I knew they could pray for me and where the pastor’s wife is a counselor. I suspected my symptoms could be stress related. What kind of stress? Stress brought on by deep loneliness and grief. I’m still grieving the loss of my husband.

I asked for prayer and was prayed for. Then the pastor had a special revelation from God to call up those who were suffering from emotional stress. I’ve never before heard someone do that. That was exactly my predicament. What a relief I had! It was like a fountain built up broke loose. I cried out my loneliness and God came with His soothing peace to my heart. I’m sure you’ve experienced how tears can bring healing.

As soon as the pastor said his “amen,” I got on the phone and called my daughter. Could we meet in the afternoon halfway to her house and she bring my precious Sarah? I was healed! My strength was back— the tightness in my chest was gone. So that’s what we did. And I got not only Sarah but also Brianna.

Now we have a busy week ahead. Brianna has it all planned out. She is a ten-year-old girl with her head full of ideas. She’s going to cook—I’m going to teach her a Peruvian recipe. It’s a little challenging because she has both lactose and gluten intolerance. We didn’t find any bread for her so we decided to bake our own. She made sugar cookies and I made banana bread. What a difference from last week, when I could barely move!

I knew that when I got the results from the tests they were going to be just fine, and sure enough—they called from the doctor and everything is fine. This morning we visited a friend who has been a widow for many years. She confirmed what I suspected. Emotional stress can cause havoc in your body. She even broke out with tumors from the loneliness and stress after her husband’s death. My situation is a piece of cake compared to what she had to deal with, being left alone with six children and a factory to run.

Why am I writing all this? First and foremost to give a testimony of God’s healing grace. Hopefully it can be a help and encouragement for someone. Emotional stress can be just as real as physical stress. Our precious Lord has his open arms outstretched for us. He welcomes us to cry in His embrace. Picture yourself in the strong and loving arms of Jesus!Brianna and Yolanda

Here is Brianna with my friend Yolanda. I did something wrong so the picture with Sarah was erased. We will go back so she can get a picture with this kind lady. They each got some crafts from her.

When I was going to tuck Sarah in for the night we had such an interesting conversation, I need to pass on part of it. She expressed how lucky I am because I’m old and will soon get to go to heaven. Yesterday we had looked at pictures of her Aunt Eva-Marie, who is in heaven, and she thought her Aunt was so lucky because she got to preach. Yes, she did! When we traveled as a family visiting churches to speak about missions, she did. “Now I’m a pretend preacher,” she said. “When I grow up I’m going to be a real preacher!”

Jesus is Coming

This is my “preacher” girl speaking in the church where we lived when I was born. My father was the pastor. Jesus is Coming Soon is the message on the wall. That message is as relevant today as seventy years ago.

My preacher girls

Here are both of my little girls. The one to the right is Carina, Sarah’s mother. They used to sing together. For Sarah, it isn’t fair that she doesn’t get to do that. Why did her mother get to have so much fun? But then. Sarah has “stage-fright” so she doesn’t know if she would dare to do it.

We continued talking about heaven. I told her that when I get there I’m going to tell Eva-Marie all about Sarah. What a comforting conversation! When we love Jesus, to speak about heaven is the most natural thing. Then we got into the wonderful news that we will be all well in heaven. No more hernia, no more hurting feet, and no glasses. We won’t even need glasses in heaven!

Sarah wants to go around the world taking the Bible to everyone, because she heard the preacher say that when everyone has the Bible Jesus can come back. Maybe the preacher didn’t say it exactly in those words, but that is how she, in her seven-year-old mind, understood it! I told her we can go together. But she has to grow up first. How she wishes she could already be grown up. “But then,” she said. “I’ll be grown up before I know it!” Don’t we know how quickly the years fly by!

That girl can bring smile upon smile to my face and my heart. I let the girls go through the dolls that I have kept from Eva-Marie’s collection. They each picked one favorite to play with and keep. Sure, why should I keep them tucked away in a box when “my girls” can enjoy them? Sarah picked the doll we always cherished because she looked so much like my daughter. That doll has now been “fed” and “tucked in” for the night. I don’t know how many times Sarah has expressed how precious she is. She might not have had a name before When you’re an adult you don’t “play” with dolls, you collect them, put them on a shelf. Well, now this doll has a new mother, and she has a name: Molly!

EvaMaries doll

To have a name! Have you thought about how precious it is that someone gave you a name! Your parents probably thought long and hard on what name to give you. And if you didn’t have parents that were concerned about your name, you have a Heavenly Father who calls you by name. Here is a promise!

To the one who conquers I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, with a new name written on the stone that no one knows except the one who receives it. Revelation 2:17

These are my “two cents” for the day. By the time you read this it will be another day. It’s midnight now. I had to wait until the girls were in bed to sit down and write. Thanks for hearing me out. As weak as last week was… this is going to be a strong one! I am a family oriented person. I suffer because I have my family far away. Every time Brianna and I get together she will tell me how much she wants me to live close by. Sometimes we don’t rule over circumstances. How I wish mine would change!

Do you have your family close by? Cherish them! Do you still have the love of your life? Love that person to pieces! When they are gone, tho hole they leave is very painful.

When Brianna was three years old, shortly after my husband had passed away, she said she would like to fly to heaven to bring my husband down and take us to a restaurant. Then she would fly him back! Precious girl!

When they are gone, they’re gone!

Love them while you have them!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Heaven, My grandchildren and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

