Seven Years Cancer-Free

It is now seven years since my last chemo treatment. All the glory to my Lord and Savior for seven years cancer free!

I asked the Lord that he would let me live, thinking about my daughter and my grandchildren. Little did I know that it would be for the children of the world!

During the long and sad and lonely hours after enduring the radiation and the chemo therapy God spoke to my heart. I missed my husband, who passed away in 2007. We had so many plans. When I reached retirement age we were going to travel doing teaching seminars for Christina education teachers. We both loved to teach!

Then our plans were shattered. God called him home! And I was left alone to deal with the grief and the cancer. But with God on my side I’m never alone.

This verse was my comfort then; it is my comfort now!

Psalm 46_10

During those lonely hours, when I lay in my bed (in the spot where my husband had died), God called me to publish all my teaching materials on the web. Since I had worked with Spanish all my life I took it for granted that it meant for the Spanish-speaking world. But the Lord has broadened my horizons to reach out to the world and also do it in English.

Who would have thought that seven years later I would have 10 blogs! That’s too much! I hear you, and I agree, but each one has a specific purpose.

God has given me life,
to bring His life,
to brighten the lives
of so many lives
that need new life;
a life that only
the Author of Life
can bring into lives.

This sums up my life! I am busy working on curriculum that I publish for free on the internet. Apart from Spanish I have big plans to do everything in English so that it then can be translated to whoever would like to use the materials.

This is a strictly personal effort; with financial backing of $250 from one church in Sweden. That’s it! Those 250 stretch a long way! Can you believe I have two artists working for me? How it all comes together is a mystery, but when we work for God miracles happen. I do freelance translations to add to the 250. What a privilege!

I thank God for helping me through the challenges of the cancer and the recuperating process. I’m still struggling with the effects of the treatments, and even at this very moment enduring pain in my hands and feet because of damaged nerves. But I can’t let that stop me. As long as I have breath I will give every ounce of energy to spreading the Gospel to the children of the world.

The most recent “vision” has to do with India. I have an unexplainable desire to go to India. William Carey, the man called the Father of Modern Missions went to India. I’m studying his life and writing about it for children. My artist in Costa Rica is illustrating the stories. It’s going to be six story-papers. Thanks to my friend Nancy we are going to have the story also in English. I’ll put it here when I’m done.

The part of the story I’m working on now has to do with a big trial William experienced. He did a big work of translating and printing Scriptures in many languages used in India. One day there was a fire and all his work burnt to the ground. Translations, grammar books, dictionaries, papers for printing… you name it! He lost it all. Years and years of work went up in flames!

What did he preach on the Sunday after the fire? “Be still, and know that I am God.” How to convey to children the relentless faith of this man of God is what I have taken on. He did not give up. It was just to start all over again. The translation that was ready to be printed, for which they had received a big shipment of paper from England, was lost. It had to be done all over again. How this man inspires me!

Get a book on the life of William Carey and read for yourself! Experience in your own life the confidence to “be still” and trust God in all circumstances.

Seven years without cancer… I pray that God gives me seven more… and seven more… I want to take my curriculum to India. That’s what is burning in my heart.

corazon INGLES ROJO2

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven Years Cancer-Free

  1. ncrowson says:

    What a wonderful testimony, My Dear Friend! I am so privileged to be able to help you somewhat in your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

