My Favorite Peruvian Dish

Today is Peru’s Independence Day. A lot of people have a long weekend celebration this year, since the 27th landed on a Monday. They get five days off, since tomorrow is also a holiday. Some will probably think there is no point in going back to work for just two days (Thursday and Friday) and just prolong the celebration.

I had something planned for today, to do a special photographic blog. I can’t find the pictures! I spent a lot of time choosing them and then downloading them from a memory stick to the computer. I have to believe the signs of aging. I’m not a twenty-year-old anymore! When I find the pictures I might stop and ask myself why I saved them!!! Well, senior as I am, I’m still enjoying life! Pictures or no pictures!

Let me make a different photographic blog! When my granddaughters visited me we had a Peruvian meal and I took pictures. This is also what I will be cooking in a couple of hours. I wish I had someone to share the meal with!

But Soledad (loneliness) and I will be just fine. Bon appétit!

lomo 1

Rice, potatoes, onions, tomatoes, green peppers.
This will do if you’re vegetarian.

lomo 2

Add some meat. The better quality, the better the taste!

lomo 3

Chop it into tiny pieces.
(I have to brag on my cuttings boards: Swedish IKEA!)

lomo 4

Slice the onions and set aside. If they want to make you cry,
put a piece of bread close by; that will help.

lomo 5

Slice the tomatoes. And green peppers if you like them.

lomo 6

Brown the meat in a skillet. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3150

Don’t forget the rice! We used jasmine rice. Delicious!

lomo 8

Add the onions to the meat. Let it cook on low heat.

lomo 9

Peel and slice the potatoes.
You can substitute with sweet potatoes.

lomo 10

Fry the potatoes. Drain them well to get rid of some of the grease.

lomo 11

Add the tomatoes to the meat and onions.
When the potato-fries are done, fold them in. Check the seasoning.

Lomo 12

Here is Brianna holding her plate of the meal.

I didn’t use green peppers when I cooked for the girls. I like to add them to the mix. Bean sprouts are also delicious to add, but these days I don’t see them in the supermarket.

Now it’s time for me to get cooking. Here below is the recipe. Try it! I’m sure you will enjoy it.

Peruvian beef stir fry “Lomo saltado”

1 lb meat for stir fry
5 medium size potatoes
1 medium size onion
½ green paprika
1 big tomato or one can of tomatoes
Salt, pepper and paprika for seasoning

Peal the potatoes and cut them in slices for French fries. Set aside.
Cut the meat in small strips.  Slice the onions, tomatoes and paprika. Put some oil in a wok or big frying pan. Add the meat and brown it. Then add the onions and the paprika. Styr for a while then add the tomatoes. Season with salt, pepper and paprika. Put on low heat.
Prepare the French fries. When they are done, add to the meat mixture. Serve with rice. Makes 4-6 servings.

If you like bean sprouts, add that to the stir fry. For a more spicy meal, serve with your favorite salsa mix. ENJOY!

¡Que viva el Perú, que viva!

Long live Peru!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

