The Inevitable Question

I’m going through the Gospels meditating on Jesus’ conversations with people. Today I came to Jesus’ question to Peter. It all started with a general question to his disciples.

Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?” 14 And they said, “Some say John the Baptist, others say Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.” 15 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” 16 Simon Peter replied, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” 17 And Jesus answered him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven. Matthew 16:13-17 ESV

People say a lot about Jesus even today. Many do not want to say his name. God’s name is used in vain daily. You hear it constantly, like OMG. It hurts me every time!

The worst part is that Christians, who should know better, also use “O, my God!” as an exclamation. God is holy. His name should be revered, like when the prophet Isaiah saw His glory. The angels covered their faces in the presence of God. Isaiah recognized his sinful condition, “Woe is me!”

I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train[a] of his robe filled the temple. Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts;
the whole earth is full of his glory!”

And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke. And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!” Isaiah 6:1-5 ESV

What is the inevitable question? What question does every human being have to answer?

wo is Jesus

If you don’t answer it here on earth, one day, when it’s too late to make Him your Lord, you will have to bow before Him and confess that He is Christ, the Lord.

God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, 10 so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. Philippians 2: 9-11 ESV

Dear friend, I felt a strong urge to stop in the midst of my activities, to ponder this question and to pass it on. Who is Jesus? What is He to you? That’s how the question was directed to Peter. Jesus was not interested so much in what others said of him. He made it personal. He went straight to the heart of Peter,

“But who do you say that I am?”

So, I pass it on! Answers from the bottom of your heart!

WHO IS JESUS?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

