My Most Beloved Treasure

If your house caught on fire and you could rescue only one thing, what would it be? What is it you treasure most? Good question to ponder!

I have a well-worn orange Bible. Yes, it’s orange! I bought it ten years ago at a clearance price, that’s the reason for the color. I love that Bible! It has my underlines and notes from struggling with lots of pain. I have other Bibles. Pink Bibles, blue Bibles, Burgundy Bibles, Black Bibles. I have gone through many, many Bibles in my almost 70 years. But none is as precious as my orange Bible.

When my granddaughter Brianna visited me she commented on that Bible, saying it looks so old I should replace it. I tried to do it once when I found a Bible with a big daisy on the cover. You know, Daisy –Margarita–, my signature. But it didn’t work. I had to return the Bible to the store.

Now I am in a “replace” mode. Let’s see if it works! I have acquired a new Bible! I cannot return it, because I had my name engraved on it. It’s an ESV (English Standard Version). My orange Bible is NIV (New International Version). My blue Bible is NKJ (New King James). My Pink Bible is Spanish RVR-1960. My burgundy Bible is Swedish 2000.

I have a tower of Bibles. It’s so unfair that I have so many Bibles, when there are still thousands of people groups that don’t even have a portion of God’s Word. I don’t need all these hard copy Bibles like I used to a few years ago. Many were used as references for my translation jobs. Now I can go on the computer, at BibleGateway,com and have all kinds of translations.

Bible Tower Orange Bible

You know, how Jesus transformed water into wine? I wish I could transform my Bibles into Scriptures for those who have none. Over the years I have given away some of my Bibles. I still need the study Bibles for references. Having so many Bibles, would I need another one? Not really, but I want to read the Bible in another version, start fresh with no notes and underlines. It’s going to be like discovering every Scripture anew.

Here are my new treasures: My new Bible and a journal with a verse that has big significance for me. «Be still, and know that I am God.» Whatever comes my way, I just need to take it easy and trust God. The Lord will fight for me. That’s the promise I have for my web ministry.

New treasures

My Bible would be the first thing I would rescue if there was a fire. It would be my orange Bible, my most beloved treasure. Once I start reading this new one, it will become the one I want to rescue. And I couldn’t leave my lap-top behind. Yes I could. As long as I rescued my back-up memory sticks. It’s amazing how we can put our whole “life” on a stick!

I have more treasures. It wouldn’t be wise to be writing about those at this late hour (almost midnight). Next time it will be about them.

How precious is the Bible to you?

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

