The Importance of Good Soil

I don’t like to draw attention to myself but my testimony has to be about my own experiences. This summer stands out like a long chain of pain. It’s been seven years since my nerves were damaged from the chemicals that killed the cancer. My surgeon brother tells me it takes a VERY LONG TIME for nerves to be healed. It’s turning out to be a very dragged out story…

Today I met my “new” doctor. For insurance purposes I must have a primary physician. That’s the only way I can get medications for the pain. She asked about me and I told her about the neuropathy, the hernia, the lymphedema… “Other than that,” I said. “I feel great!” She laughed. It must have sounded funny. It’s true. If it wasn’t for the “chain of pain” I would feel like a million dollars.

I’m mostly confined to my chair and the computer. I see pictures on Facebook of my friends and their “fun” summer activities and I have to ask God to help me not to be envious, especially of those that still have their spouse. Those are my struggles. So I have to come up with something that can brighten my days. This summer my marigolds have done just that… brightened my days! You might remember how I wrote about giving them space to grow. I’m going to give you a picture-show about how amazingly they have grown.

My Marigolds 2015June 22, a friend set out 7 plants on a little flower bed by the entrance of my house.

6_24-2015On June 24, I covered the black material that would keep the weeds from growing with mulch. Not a pretty sight, and I was concerned that I had so few plants.

7_6_2015On July 6, I was seeing some growth. God spoke to me about “space to grow.”

7_15_2015July 15, my marigolds show slightly more growth.

7_26_2015July 26, the marigolds are really picking up.

7_30_2015July 30, the marigolds are thriving because of all the space.

8_7_2015August 7, I start asking myself what has spurred the growth. Aha! I gave them new soil, not top soil but potting soil. That’s another key. And I gave them some good soakings with plant food.

8_13_2015August 13. I rejoice every time I water these “golden” plants!

8_18_2015August 18. My friend who helped me plant these beauties is amazed at the growth. “It has to do with the good soil”, I said.

And that’s when God put a message in my heart about the importance of good soil. I have been relaxing this evening, after my “adventure” of going to the doctor. It must sound very strange for some of you, but a trip to the south part of town, in the heat, takes the wind out of me. There was no energy left to do translation work, so I worked on these pictures and the illustrated message that I will bring you in my next blog. I could continue with it here, but thinking of those who don’t have high-speed internet, this will be all the pictures for now.

Keep the thought about the importance of the soil, and let me talk to you about it next time.

Be blessed!

Let God hide you under the shadow
of His wings!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photographs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

