How’s Your Soil?

I just came back from having a wisdom tooth pulled. It went magnificently well. I’m thankful to a friend who drove me there so I didn’t have to drive after the procedure. What a difference it is today to go to the dentist then when I was a kid! I’m kind of amazed.

They wanted to give me laughing gas, but that would have been and extra $84.00. I just took the regular numbing. He joked with me, the oral surgeon, that I was a tough Swede! I told him I had prayed about everything going well, and that God used him. “Okay, she might,” he said. “No, HE. He’s my Father!” I said.

How privileged I am to know God as my Father. Not a “she” that I have no knowledge of! I know my Father and I fellowship with Him every day. His presence is with me every minute of every hour, every second of every minute! Let me tell you something awesome that happened this week.

At the end of September we’re having a big reunion party to celebrate my dad’s 95th birthday. Someone whose great desire has been to meet Dad one more time on earth is Cristina’s father (Cristina my assistant). Dad was instrumental in leading him (Marco) to the Lord, and Marco has always loved and admired him. I felt in my heart that I should invite him for this celebration. But to go from Sweden to Peru is not like stepping on a bus or a train to travel to another city. First and foremost you have to have a visa, and that is a long process, and many times it’s not granted.

The ball was in Marco’s court. He did his part. And my sister filled out an invitation for him. I sent him an invitation but it had no bearing since I don’t live in Sweden. He was granted a five-weeks visa. So now we had to get the ticket. No big deal, right? I wanted to use my credit card to add miles to my collection. I will spare you all the details of a week trying to get the charge to go through. Cristina’s sister Consuelo was helping me, since she had found some good itineraries for the dates we needed. I called my credit card company, I spoke with a Pay Pal representative, I called my credit card company once more, I visited a travel agency in town… every day the result was the same. It didn’t work! Finally I decided to send money to Peru and have them buy the ticket.

Tuesday evening I transferred the money. Wednesday they were going to buy the ticket. In the morning my sister Agneta calls from Sweden asking about the ticket. She had found a better deal! So I had to call Peru and have them cancel their plans. Guess what? The charge went through with no problem. We now have a ticket for Marco to travel, on the dates that we needed! Why are the dates so important? Because Dad lives a 2-hour drive from the airport and my brother-in-law has to dive there to meet the travelers. He will meet me a week earlier and then meet Marco.

What’s so special you might ask? To me it’s very special that the Lord stopped the transactions, time and time again. And when it was right, no problem! You see, on the return from Sweden, Marco will be traveling with my sister Agneta who is also going to Peru. That was the special part. God knew all along about those special spots and a ticket that saved me two hundred dollars.

Now I come to the part I promised last time. My Father spoke to me when I was working on my marigold pictures. Remember that I realized the importance of the soil. One year I planted flowers in the same spot but paid no attention to the soil and I didn’t give the plants any food. The sun shone and the rain washed them, but there was no growth. The soil was no good!

Jesus talked about the soil, not any soil, but the soil of our hearts. Have you read His parable in Mark, chapter 4?

Soil mattersThe seed is the Word of God

“Listen! Behold, a sower went out to sow.”

The birds

These are the ones along the path, where the word is sown: when they hear, Satan immediately comes and takes away the word that is sown in them.

Rocky ground.

These are the ones who, when they hear the word, immediately receive it with joy. And they have no root in themselves, but endure for a while; then, when tribulation or persecution arises on account of the word, immediately they fall away.

Thorns

These are those who hear the word, but the cares of the world and the deceitfulness of riches and the desires for other things enter in and choke the word, and it proves unfruitful.

Good soil

Those that were sown on the good soil are the ones who hear the word and accept it and bear fruit, thirtyfold and sixtyfold and a hundredfold.

how is your heartThis is the big question? What kind of soil is your heart?

Let me leave you with the thought about how important the soil is. May we have a tender heart toward the things of God, willing to listen and obey.

May you bear fruit one hundredfold!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

