Why God Made Him a Boy

Here is my favorite boy in all the world. I stayed up late last night to go through my picture files. I could just skim the surface, I have so many! Today I will show you the reason why David is a boy. This is David’s own philosophy, at age 3! He was so cute, standing on a big pile of dirt, declaring, “God knew I wanted to be a builder, so he made me a boy!”

Builder David

I’ve said it before, and I don’t mind repeating it. I love David to pieces! He will always have a very special place in my heart, not only because he is my grandson, but because when he was born I was grieving the death of my first-born, and David filled to hole in my heart!

We turn kind of crazy when we become grandmas, but I think I can take the prize. I went crazy, twelve years ago, and I’m still crazy. Let me share a few of the pictures of my “builder” David. David has Asperger’s syndrome, a form of autism that is expressed through speech and language difficulties and repeated behavior patterns. He is a very intelligent young man who is always “building” something. Trains, Lego’s, puzzles, Sudoku, Chess, Othello, Skip-boo, Scrabble… the list is long. I’m so happy that his parents understand him and humor his need of constantly be “building.” How I love that boy!

Dimple boy

Builder in the making

Lego lover

I found this picture in one of my files and thought David had dumped all his Lego’s and was sorting them, but then I realized he was in “Lego Heaven” where his parents took him this summer, or maybe last year. It’s hard to keep track of all the happenings.

Joy for a boy

For our Lego-boy, moments like these are precious. To be building together with your father is priceless. So many children grow up without a dad. I’ve had the privilege of growing up with my father, being friends with him, working in God’s Ministry together. Now I will soon be with him to celebrate his 95th birthday!

David and Morfar Per

Here is David with my dad. “Morfar” means mother’s father. He is my daughter’s morfar and for easy reference the children just call him Morfar Per.

Faithful backpack

David also has ADHD. Before he was diagnosed it was hard to understand his behavior. After he was diagnosed it was easier for his parents to meet his needs. One very trusted and much-needed “friend” is his back-pack. He carries it all over the place so he will have things to do. David needs to be doing something all the time. I wonder sometimes if I have some un-diagnosed syndrome, because I have to constantly be busy!

Big people toy

David used to love all the big building machines. Big People Toys my daughter used to call them. Here, David has built one of those toys. Below he is checking the heart-beat of another one.

Doctor David

ABC tower 4

Now, here is something fun. David built a big tower for his Thomas the Train. Can you spot the little guy on the top?

Legos 5

Buildings come in all shapes and sizes.

Lego at 6

Some of David’s early “buildings” with Lego’s.

Builder 6

Another type of “building” is with puzzles. Check the little yellow vehicle at the right. David always had to have a little “friend” with him while working on his projects. I think he still does!

Number lover

Here he has a whole set of “friends” keeping him company while doing his numbers. David loves numbers!

Puzzle lover

One of his first big puzzles completed. Here he has his little bear friend with him.

Ninja star

I could go on and on about my precious Dimple-boy. Here he is proud of having made a Ninja Star.

He’s proud of that star. I’m proud of my Star Boy. This Friday we will celebrate his and his sister Lana’s 12th birthday. I’m starting early with the celebration. I can hardly believe David is already the same age as Jesus was when he visited the Temple in Jerusalem. Wow!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

