God’s Loving Care

Once again I have seen God’s loving care in the mundane things of life. I need to give a quick testimony.

All summer I have been planning on calling the plumber because the drain for the bathtub in my guest bathroom was clogged. That happens, especially if your guests have long hair. No big deal, right? Well, weeks went by and things came in the way.

Last evening the drain for my garbage disposal was clogged. I worked on it and manged to get the water to drain. Then I did a stupid thing. I put on the dishwasher! Well, guess what? I was blessed with lots of water on the floor!

Now I had to call the plumber. I had 2 names. One, where I left a message on the answering machine. He’s not gotten back to me yet. Another one, said he had lent his machine to someone so he couldn’t come, but he gave me a name and a phone number to call. From that number it was transferred to someone else. That plumber came almost immediately. He unclogged the disposal and worked on all the drains in my bathrooms.

We know it’s expensive to call a plumber. I guess that’s why we put it off! My little “party” (like they say in Swedish) cost me 204 dollars! Had I called the plumber before, it would have been 2 visits, and 2 payments. So, I see God’s care for me in my “procrastination” and my own “stupidity,” because I put celery and potato peelings in the disposal. Never do that! I knew I shouldn’t and I still did it!

God knows our human failures, but He cares. Every day I am more amazed at His love and mercy. “Be still, and know that I am God” is one of my favorite verses (Psalm 46:10). The Psalms start with these words: “God is our refuge and our strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” May you also experience that in your life!

Don’t be too upset with me. The teacher in me cannot help herself. I see lessons all over the place. This summer my marigolds have been the classroom. What did I do to get these beautiful orange and yellow flowers to give my little house a bright and happy appearance? Not much! Were it not for God there would be no flowers. He put in the seeds everything they needed to grow. I just had to take care of them.

God Gives Growth

Remember late spring, when I had put out the plants and was disappointed because they were so few and far apart? That was the key! They had space to grow.

Let me just do a quick overview that shows the power that is in a tiny seed. I did the math. This is a rough calculation.

7 plants
30 flowers on each plant = 280 flowers
30 seeds in each flower = 8,400 seeds

That is a miscalculation, too modest. I went out and checked again the plants and I counted the seeds in ONE dried up flower. These are more accurate numbers.

7 plants
50 flowers on each plant = 350 flowers
90 seeds in each flower = 31,500 seeds

That is more like it! That’s how our Creator God works. His riches are abundant. He shows Himself in Nature, but most of all in the human heart who will let Him in. There is no limit to what his grace can do for us.

Let me show you my plants once again, meditate on God’s greatness. For three months I have used them for an object lesson. If God can do such a multiplication from one little seed, what can He not do for me? for you?

growingTHE BEGINNING

8_18_2015AMAZING GROWTH

9_2_2015THREE MONTHS LATER

From ONE seed grew 50 FLOWERS. From those flowers come at the end of summer 4,500 seeds. If each seed is used…

4,500 seeds make 4,500 plants

4,500 plants with 50 flowers each make 225,000 flowers

From those 225,000 flowers come 20,250,000 new seeds

Dwell on this thought. Let God’s Holy Spirit speak to your heart about the growth He wants to see in you, and through you. You can conquer mountains! You can defeat enemies! You can fulfill your dreams! With God’s help you can do the impossible! You can love the unlovable!

It might be a week before I get back on this page. I have things to do, places to go, people to meet. You just wait and see. Thanks for hearing me out once again. Let God speak to your heart through my marigolds! Which are really not “mine” because, as God says…

The world is mine, and everything in it.
Psalm 50:12

We tend to forget that! But He lets us enjoy his Creation.

See you soon

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature, Seed of Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

