Cookies and Honey Bees

As planned, Mary and I baked cookies. I have not baked cookies from scratch for 25-30 years. Mary hasn’t baked cookies, so it was a novelty for both of us. I picket some recipes for gluten-free cookies, but I wasn’t so happy with the result so I decided I would buy some from the store, if I could get a ride. We’re having 50+ guests so we need a lot of cookies.

Dad heard about my plans. So he talked to Mary and they offered to bake cookies today. I was busy with my weekly story so I couldn’t help. Here is the “Birthday Boy” baking for the party. And also some of the cookies.

Dad baking

Cookis for the party

Then came a call. My sister and her husband were going to work with their honey bees, to provide them with food for the winter, since they had helped themselves to all the honey. Mary and I wanted to see the procedure, but where would we hide from the bees? We situated ourselves in their greenhouse and had a view through the glass to take some pictures.

Bee adventure 1Ready to attack the task!

Bee adventure 2Here is where Agneta and Ola house their honey bees

Bee adventure 3Starting the procedure

Bee adventure 4

Bee adventure 5Cleaning, and giving the bees some smoke to make them dizzy

Bee adventure 6

Bee adventure 7I cannot explain what’s going on, I’m only an observer

Bee adventure 8This is only a fraction of the thousands of bees we saw today

Bee adventure 9In the white container is food for the winter

Bee adventure 10Now the bees are all sealed up for the long and cold winter

This was my little afternoon adventure after publishing a story about Mary Jones, the girl who worked six years to save money so she could buy a Bible. The verse for the day fits perfectly with my “adventure.” I’ll close with that. It’s way past bed-time and tomorrow is another day. Our “visitor” is on his way. We will pick him up in Gothenburg late tomorrow night. Next week I’ll have the story of our celebration weekend.

ps 119 103

It’s Autumn here, but since there has not yet been any frost, some flowers are still blooming. I photographed this one while walking to the greenhouse. Enjoy!

Picked sep 24

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature, Sweden Adventure 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

