A Four-Year-Old Missionary

Today, September 30, is my Father’s birthday. To honor him and to give glory to God I want to write a tribute the youngest missionary in our family, precious Alida, 4 years old.

Alida 4

A few months ago I wrote a story about her and published it on my Royal Palm World Mission, because Alida, my great-niece, was so taken by the fate of thousands of children in Syria and Iraq. She and her younger siblings prayed for these children every day and her heart was filled with compassion for them.

Alida 5

Read the story: The compassion of Alida

Alida wanted to ride her bike to Syria and take her toys to give to the children there. She is too young to understand the distances. At her mother’s suggestion she decided to do something to raise money to help the children there. Alida started drawing pictures that she sold, but then she went over to doing bracelets. Her little sister Britta helps.

With the money she earned, she bought crayons to give to the children. Some of the children who received the crayons didn’t know what to do with them, because they had never had any paper and coloring pencils to draw pictures.

My brother Pepe asked Alida how much she charges for her bracelets. One hundred thousand! Wouldn’t that be great if she could sell them at that price to help the refugee children?

Alida and her dad

Alida and her grandfather Lasse

Alida is my brother Lasse’s grandchild, daughter to Emilie. I feel so proud and happy to be a part of the life of this little girl. The people in Bible times, at the birth of John the Baptist, asked, “What then will this child be?” For the hand of the Lord was with him (Luke 1:66).

I pray that precious Alida will be a great woman of God, filled with love and compassion for the lost and hurting.

Alida 3

Alida admired my beaded necklace

On Sunday my sister Agneta invited us dinner at her house; we were all five siblings together. Alida’s parents had gone back home but she stayed with her grandparents. She was sitting on the couch and noticed my homemade necklace and commented on the nice beads. “I don’t have those beads,” she said. So I promised I would send her some. “But my Mom doesn’t know where you live,” she said. I told her I knew were her Mom lives. And I told her of my boxes with different colors of beads. What a precious girl!

Brita and AlidaAlida and Britta beading bracelets

Braizlets

Age doesn’t matter. We can all serve our Master Jesus with whatever talent we have.

So how has this “beading mission” developed? This little girl has raised 16,000 Swedish Crowns, which would be about two thousand dollars to help needy children in the Middle East.

Would you like to join Alida to pray for the children of Syria and Iraq? About two million Syrian children have had to leave their home and country. Now they are refugees in Lebanon, Turkey, Jordan, and other countries.

These days the situation of the refugees is very dire. I guess we have all seen the pictures in the news about how they are fleeing and seeking refuge. I wrote a few weeks ago about Aylan, feeling the sadness of his father who lost both his wife and his children. It could just as well have been my grandson.

Praise God for Alida! She is now a third generation missionary. Her grandparents served the Lord in Chile and Peru. Her parents were missionaries in Bolivia. In her own way Alida is serving Jesus in the Middle East. And this Aunt of hers also has the privilege to fulfill the Commission to take the Gospel to the world.

Our youngest missionary

Great-Grandpa Per and little Alida, two modern-day missionaries!

Dad’s heart is still beating strong for missions. He’s still planning for the future. Once a missionary, always a missionary! I praise God that I’m part of this family. This little girl inspires me to keep moving on to spread the Gospel.

Will you let God use you in His own
special way?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Missions, Sweden Adventure 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

