Celebrating 50 Years of Service

I’m celebrating 50 years since I left Sweden for Peru as a missionary. What better way than to visit a church that has stood by me all these years! Most of the people who were active at that time are now awaiting our reunion when we all meet together to celebrate eternity with our precious Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

New faces. Beautiful faces.

Tidan 08Here I am together with friends from the Middle East and Africa. Tidan, the town I visited, has many refugees. The Government rents housing there for people who seek refuge in Sweden. Young and old are welcome!

Tidan 07

Marco and I made a weekend trip to Tidan. It was the first time for him to travel on a Swedish train. How interesting that the train we traveled on had the same name as his daughter that works with me. Cristina is my very talented designer. Only the spelling varied slightly.

Travel 01

A section in the South has trains called Krösatågen, where each train has its own name, pertaining to some well-known character. Kristina Nilsson was a singer. This line of trains have their own celebration. Thirty years they have been in service. So the first leg of the journey we traveled round-trip on Kristina.

Travel 05Marco taking pictures

From Jönköping we traveled on another train. This is a beautiful city by the big lake Vättern. We will visit it later this week because I have to renew my Swedish passport. I’m blessed with dual citizenship: Swedish and American. Really, it’s triple. Most of all I cherish my heavenly citizenship.

Travel 03 Jonkoping

Travel 02Here it comes, the train that would take us to Skövde.

Lyckgarden 02 MiriamFrom Skövde we traveled by car to Tidan. My dear friend Miriam welcomed us in her home. Here she is porting a T-shirt received from me on a previous trip and serving 0ven-baked open-faced sandwiches. Ham, cheese, tomatoes on rye bread. Delicious!

Tidan 01

Tidan 02

Marco and I standing by the Filadelfia church where we would speak.

Tidan 50 celebrationMy happiest celebration! To visit Tidan is like coming home! To go to Sweden and not visit this church doesn’t feel right.

Tidan 03

Tidan 04Kerstin interpreting for Marco

It’s a small church, in a small town. It might be small but people can have a big heart. It’s the heart that matters. And they have a big heart for me and for God’s work in general.

Tidan 05Sandwich cakes

After the service we had sandwich cakes with tea and coffee. The sandwich is made of layers of bread spread with tuna salad. The cake was covered with diced eggs and tomatoes. Delicious!

Tidan 06

Tidan facesYoung and old enjoying the cake

Two of my dear friends and supporters couldn’t be at the service, so they asked us to stay a day extra and visit with them. They live in the woods. Beautiful and tranquil.

Woods

Soren and Marco

Sören and Marco with the cake

There we had Princess cake, and other goodies. Food aside, the best and most enjoyable is the fellowship. I’m glad that Marco can visit some Swedish homes.

Brain game

A brain game. It can take minutes to put the pieces in place or it can take days. Sören makes them. His son-in-law had been working for hours with one. When he was given one to give to a Russian friend, he said, “If you do it in ten minutes I’ll give you a Mercedes.” The friend did it in five minutes! But I don’t know about the Mercedes. Did he give it to him? Who knows!

Marco had something to work on while traveling back. It’s a good thing we got on the right train!

Jonkoping Nassjo

If you read my adventures in Sweden last year, you might remember I got on the train to Nässjö instead of going to Skövde. Well, this time I made sure to board the right train. Not the one that came to this platform.

I’m back again… with more memories to talk about… That’s for another day!

Blessings!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden Adventure 2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

