A Day of Different Surprises

The day started with a walk to the train station. It was sunny but cold. While we waited for the train I worked on my project for my granddaughter Brianna. She’s getting a blanket with personally chosen colors. The colors match my scarf.

To Jonkoping

We were on our way to Jönköping, the beautiful city by the big lake. I had a very special purpose for the trip: to renew my Swedish passport. On that part it turned out to be an unpleasant surprise.

Jonkoping station

Marco reading

Let’s talk about Marco for a bit. It’s been such a blessing to have him visit us. We have talked memories… all kinds of memories from 30-40 years back. For me to get help moving around is wonderful. He’s also helping me copy texts for my Bible study on missions. It’s going to be great to combine the study of the Apostle Paul with missionary William Carey. That’s my plan!

There is a set of missionary stories that I’ve sent to Dad and Mary from time to time. He is devouring the books! Marco wants to read all of them before going back home. He’s got less than 2 weeks left here. The train was a good place for reading.

Kerstin and Birgitta

Thirty years ago Birgitta and I were neighbors in Cochabamba, Bolivia. We were both missionaries. In Jönköping we met again. It was like we had seen each other yesterday. She met us at the train station and took me to the Police to renew my passport. The “unpleasant” surprise was that I could not do it.

Since my passport had expired, I needed a family member to verify that I am who I claim to be! I also need my Certificate of Citizenship from the USA and a paper that shows I have applied once again for Swedish citizenship (which I lost back in 1997 when I became an American citizen). I can’t just “run home” to get those documents! So I’ll just live with an expired Swedish passport.

DalahastBirgittas husband was from Dalarna (Dalecarlia). That’s where these hand-painted horses are from. This is a big model Birgitta has; a memory from Mora, where her husband was from. Both of us have lost our husbands; both of us are using our time to write for children.

Marco BirgittaBirgitta and Marco

After en enjoyable lunch we spent all afternoon sharing stories. Then came the pleasant surprise to meet Lorena, Birgitta’s daughter-in-law. Her son Markus and my daughters went to school together. The surprise was to hear her testimony of growing up in Sunday school with the story papers I published in Bolivia. Then, when Markus and Lorena went as missionaries to Trinidad, they started using the papers I publish on-line. It is such a blessing when I know that what I work hard with is being useful.

Kerstin and LorenaHappy to get to know Lorena

Kerstin Birgitta LorenaSuch joy to be with Birgitta and Lorena

Con Familia GreenHere I am, with Marco and also Birgitta’s son Markus and family
(missing their son Joseph)

This will be all for today. It’s late as usual. I should get some shut-eye. Blessings!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden Adventure 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

