My Name in Her Pocket

What is that all about, my name in somebody’s pocket? This past Sunday, at the service in Almhult, I met a lady whom I had talked to last year. “I don’t know you and I don’t know much about you,” she said. “But last year when you were here I wrote your name on a piece of paper and put it in my pocket. For six month I kept your name there, and every time I put my hands in my pockets and felt the piece of paper I would pray for you. Then the paper disappeared, and I figured I had done my part of praying for you.”

Such an interesting concept! Put a name in your pocket. Pray for the person. Feel daily the touch of the paper. Connect with Heaven. Pray! Be a blessing!

The church I visited to celebrate my 50 years in missions, has been a blessing to me many times over. Most of the old folks are gone; those who stood by me in those early years. But some are still there, like Solveig, Ulla, Bo, Bert, Britta… Then there were all the new faces. God knows them all. In His big pocket all our names fit in.

Almhult 01

Dad and Mary

A great joy for me was to have Dad and Mary with me, and also my friend Marco. I don’t want to embarrass him by posting the picture I took of the other side of the aisle. We have been joking with him that he doesn’t suffer from insomnia but rather “somnia.” He has not adjusted very well to the 7 hours difference from Peru to Sweden, but His daughter Cristina tells me the “sominia” happens in Lima, too! But he had some “insomnia” moments, like when I was preaching and he took this picture.

Almhult 02

My friend Nancy, do you see yourself on the overhead? You are my faithful helper, doing the stories in English.

1948 to Chile

When my parents and I left for missions work in Chile in 1948, the church in Almhult was one of the supporters. Then they continued supporting my parents until they retired, and even some beyond. Dad has never stopped his mission engagement. For his 95th birthday they did an interview in the Christian daily paper DAGEN, and asked what he wished for. “Lots of money,” Dad said. He wants lots of money for his and Mary’s latest project, to build a home for orphaned boys in Huancayo, Peru.

Almhult 03 SolveigHere is Solveig, one of our friends through the years, showing the article and informing that the church will given an offering of $600 for this project. PTL! There are 2 plants in the flower arrangement. One was for me, so I can look at them while I”m here.

Almhult 05 What shall I give youOne of the songs we sang is “Jesus, what shall I give you?… I give myself!” Dad had given his life, since he was just a young man. He has been an example and an inspiration for me through the years. I have the same desire, to give Jesus everything. He gave his life to save me. I want to give myself fully to serve him ’till my last breath.

In 1964 I was Sweden’s youngest missionary. Now I wish that one day i will be Sweden’s oldest missionary!

Almhult 04 Dad and Mary

Dad and Mary enjoying fellowship after the service. From there our friend Solveig invited us dinner, which I would have photographed, but my feet were hurting too bad after standing during my entire sermon, so I had no inspiration for pictures. But at least I took a picture of the centerpiece.

Almhult 06 Solveigs homeOn our way home, a drive of about 120 kilometers (for miles, divide by 1.6), my sister Agneta chose a road through the woods to give us a chance to see an elk, which we did, but…

MIssed the elk

That was our Sunday outing. Happy to have visited my friends in Almhult one more time.

This week, my friend from youth, Anita, will be visiting. Shall I put her name in my pocket?

Wishing you all a good rest of the week!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden Adventure 2015, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Name in Her Pocket

  1. Cristina says:

    Kerstin que linda foto de tu papá con su esposa! Dios les bendiga y si seguís los pasos de tu padre vas a llegar a ser la misionera más longeva 🙂 que privilegio, servir a Dios por tantos años!

  2. Agneta says:

    Sorry, but it wasn’t an elk, it was a moose!

Leave a Reply

