The Monday Miracle

This has been a busy week dedicated to helping my friend from youth, Anita. That story has to wait.

Marco has one granddaughter which, of course, he adores. There was one thing he wanted to get for her, a pair of Swedish clogs. They used to be very popular, but styles change and now it wasn’t so easy for us to find those shoes. But we had a Monday miracle!

We were invited to visit our missionary colleagues from way back, Lennart and Boyan Lindgren. They live in Värnamo, about 25 miles from Vaggeryd. We had to take the train. To get to the train station I asked our friend Miriam to drive us, but her car is too small to carry a wheelchair and a walker. So Marco and Mary did us the favor of “transporting” them to the train station.

Dad and I needed the walker and the wheelchair in Värnamo, to get from the train station to our friend’s house. Such complicated procedures!

Marco and MAry

Dad Mary trainDad and Mary on the train

Our friends live in the center of town. Boyan has what she always dreamed of, a window by the street so she can check what’s going on.

View from the windowClose up Varnamo

We had dinner, with plum-filled pork steak. Then Swedish apple pie for dessert.

Dinner at Lindgrens

Boyan offered to show Marco and Mary around town. I was invited too, but to sit in the wheelchair in chilly weather and get my legs and feet cold didn’t attract me. I stayed with Dad and Lennart to work on the blanket I’m making for Brianna.

Here’s how the Monday miracle happened. There was a shoe store not far from where Lindgren’s live. Mary saw the cutest clogs, exactly what Marco was looking for, but the price was 450 Swedish Crowns, like 50 US Dollars. That was a little too much, so they left the store, and went sight-seeing.

Later, for some reason, they returned to the store. What had happened in the meantime Mary can’t explain, but when they returned the price was reduced to less than half. Marco got the clogs for his granddaughter for 200 Swedish Crowns. That was the miracle!

Swedish clogsPippi Lonstocking box.
Celebrating 70 years of this story, written by Astrid Lindgren.

In Spanish these shoes are called SUECOS (Swedes). The little girl’s mother told some friends, “I want Dad to bring me a SUECO (Swede) when he goes to Sweden.” “Why do you need a SUECO (Swede)? Don’t you have a husband?”

Here’s another story about Swedes. In Spanish there is an expression “hacerse el sueco” or “la sueca” (for a woman). It means to ignore or pretend you don’t understand. I used to kid with a coworker and say, “I don’t have to pretend I’m a Swede, I am a Swede.” “No me hago la sueca, ¡soy sueca!”

That might not make sense to you, but it brings back memories from the happy times when I worked as an editor. Now I’m retired, working harder than ever.

My friend Anita’s granddaughter said to her the other day, “When I grow up I want to be retired!” She’s four years old. What a long way she has to go, to reach her goal of being retired!

Somebody who is going to be very happy is Marcos granddaughter. Nobody in her neighborhood will have “Swedes”! I’m so happy for the half-price miracle, so she can have these clogs. But her mother will NOT get a “sueco”!

CeremikOne of many Peruvian souvenirs in the Lindgren home.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden Adventure 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

