A Different Kind of Chat Room

Sweden is welcoming many refugees. In proportion to the size of the country, at the present crisis Sweden has now received the most refugees. Where will they all be housed? Schools are being used. But not everybody is happy about it. In the last few days three schools have been burnt to the ground because they were going to be used to house refugees. How sad that some people don’t have a generous heart! Most of the refugees are from Syria, where there is a bad crisis.

Vaggeryd is one of the towns where refugees are allocated. For them and other people coming to Sweden there is a special program to study the language.  Dad’s wife has the privilege to study Swedish together with them. At the school there is a waiting list; 20-25 are in line to come in.

The churches in town have a special program every Wednesday, a different kind of chat room I would call it. The students get to talk Swedish, have a cup of coffee, and sing songs. Here are some pictures from a visit Marco and I made to this chat room.

The schoolThe school
School parkingBicycle parking

Schoolcafe 01Mary, our friend Miriam who plays the music, and a student

Schoolcafe 03Happy singing

Schoolcafe 02Ladies from Somalia and a young man from “I don’t know”

Schoolcafe 04The students love to play drums to the songs

Schoollibrary 01School library

Schoollibrary 02Schoollibrary 03

Marco and treeMarco carrying my purse

That was our short visit to the session for chatting Swedish and enjoying some singing. Marco was very attentive, as he has been all during this trip, and offered to carry my purse. “I’m used to it,” he said. “I’m usually carrying my wife’s purse or one of my daughters.” He has three grown daughters so he has good practice.

Marco has had some adventures of his own this week. He went to Lund with my friend Anita’s husband. Then he had a train ride from Lund to Nässjö, and a visit over the weekend with my brother Lasse. He came back and was as happy as can be.

More to follow…

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden Adventure 2015, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

