Seed Multiplication

Seeds have swirled around in my mind for the last two months. As I was preparing for my trip to Sweden and giving my marigolds their final “shower,” God spoke to me about the seeds. It was not the first time.

ENG multiplication

Twelve years ago God spoke to me using the seeds of marigolds, and I started a “Seed of Love” ministry. Lately it had been somewhat on the back burner; but this time the message was a little different.

You can read my testimony here: Seed of Love

God blessed my marigolds abundantly. They just did what they were purposed for: produce of its kind. In Creation God made the land to produce vegetation: plants and trees that bear fruit with seed in it.

Someone said once that we can count the seeds in an apple, but only God can count the apples in a seed. I don’t have apple trees or any other trees for that matter. I don’t have the energy to fill my back yard with fruits and vegetables, but I have one spot where I can sow. If you’ve read some previous blogs you know that I planted 7 marigolds. The growth was phenomenal.

You crown the year with your bounty, and your carts overflow with abundance. Psalm 65:11 NIV

So, God spoke to me about counting the seeds in a flower. I had to do it twice to make sure it was right, because it was hard to believe how many seeds grew out of one flower. Ninety (90)!

My mind started spinning and I had to get the calculator. There was a message in the making! Seed multiplication was on my mind!

If there were 90 seeds in a flower, how many flowers grew on a plant? It was the first week in September and I could count between 80 to 100 flowers on each plant. Multiply the highest number by 90 and you have 9,000 seed.

I didn’t want to exaggerate in any way so I made a very conservative calculation for a hands-on message I was going to give in the churches I visited in Sweden and to the people I met.

I wrote about this on September 12th, doing some calculations. For my preaching in Sweden I opted for the following:

  • 1 seed = 1 plant
  • 1 plant = 50 flowers
  • 1 flower = 50 seeds
  • 1 plant = 2,500 seeds

Let’s say next year I would use all my seeds, this would be the result:

  • 2,500 seeds = 2,500 plants
  • 2,500 plants X 50 flowers each = 125,000 flowers
  • 125,000 flowers X 50 seeds in each flower = 6,250,000 seeds

The following year, if I planted all the seeds, this would be the astronomic result:

  • 6,250,000 seeds = 6,250,000 plants
  • 6,250,000 plants X 50 flowers each = 312,500,000 flowers
  • 312,500,000 flowers X 50 seed each = 15,625,000,000 seeds

Doing the same procedure the following year the results would be:

39,062,500,000,000 seeds

When I presented this calculation to my Dad, his reaction was, “How much soil would you need to do all this planting?” That is the big question. I have not figured that out. Maybe you would like to help me with that calculation!

I used John 12:24 as the focus of my message.

“Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.”

The only way the seed can produce of its kind is by “dying.” If the tiny marigold seed could speak it might plead with me not to bury it in the ground. It likes the sunlight; it likes the soft touch of my hand; but to be buried in the dark and humid ground, such a horrific fate! But, sweet little seed, that is the only way that you will turn into beautiful golden flowers.

I managed to pick 100 flowers that had bloomed over and were turning dry. Those were buried in my suitcase for the trip. I also took tiny plastic bags. In Sweden I made message cards to put in the bags, together with one flower with 90 seeds in each bag. My friend Marco (see the story about him in my previous blogs) helped me with that.

The plants continued to grow while I was away on my trip. When I returned most of the flowers were dry so I decided to harvest them and count my seeds. You can see them drying on trays. The end-count is beyond amazing.

Seeds to dry

7 marigold plants grew 1,150 flowers

1,150 flowers with 90 seeds each = 103,500 seeds

Where will I find space to do my sowing next year?

Why am I so fascinated by this? Because that is what God can do in and through my life when I plant the seed of His Word. The same goes for you!

God is the Expert Multiplier! There is so much more to talk about. Let’s leave it for another day. I need to get busy posting this message also in Swedish and Spanish.

May your Sunday or any day you read this message
be blessed by the Great God of the Supernatural!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Seed of Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

