Broken Pieces

I have three people on my heart this week, to offer special prayer for. They have something in common: all three are broken, each in their own way.

In talking with a friend yesterday about broken pieces and what could heal a broken heart, this thought came to me: They need an intimate relationship with Jesus!

Jesus is the mender of broken hearts.

Isaiah 61:1-3 A Prophesy about Jesus

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor,
and the day of vengeance of our God;
to comfort all who mourn;
to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified. (ESV)

Jesus came to bind up the brokenhearted, to set the captives free!

Broken pieces

I know about broken pieces. There was a time in my life when all I could see was brokenness… ashes!

A friend of mine prayed that “out of the ashes of my life, God would build a skyscraper for His glory.” It’s been 13 years since that prayer. The “skyscraper” is slowly but surely rising to glorify God.

It was a sad and lonely place. I felt like my life was scattered. The most precious thing I had was taken away from me—my dream of ministry!

Previously I had lost my mother. My first-born was also taken away from me. I had burden upon burden.

But, Jesus!

O, the precious Lover of my Soul!

The bright Morning Star; my Friend, my Comforter.

There was also another time when all I had were broken pieces. I was deeply disappointed because of misunderstandings. I told God, “I don’t like your kids!”

But, God!

God, my Father.

God, my Sustainer.

God, my all in all!

God has promised never to leave us, never to forsake us (see Hebrews 13:5,6).

God had not disappointed me. How could He? God is LOVE, and love does not disappoint. “I cannot leave you,” I said. “Just because your kids have treated me badly, doesn’t make you a bad Father.”

The loving arms of Father wrapped around me and He lifted me out of the “broken” place. It didn’t happen overnight, but it happened!

Psalm 40:1-3 ESV

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
and put their trust in the Lord.

God gave me the grace to forgive. And He fashioned another vessel, as it pleased Him. (See Jeremiah 18:1-4.)

God didn’t leave me with the broken heart!

O, that the persons God has put on my heart, who are suffering, would turn to Jesus and let Him heal the brokenness. An intimate relationship with Jesus, not only for the friends on my heart, but for me, for you… for everyone! We all need an intimate relationship with Jesus!

Are you broken?

Are you lost in life’s maze?

Is your life but smoldering ashes?

Are you disappointed beyond repair? For God there are no impossible cases!

Jesus stands at the door and knocks (see Revelation 3:20). If you open the door He will come in and dine with you.

Will you let Jesus heal your broken heart? Jesus will not only put together the broken pieces. He will make something new and beautiful.

More than anybody God understand about broken pieces!

 

Listen to this beautiful song: Something beautiful

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

