A Rainy Turned Sunny Adventure

Yesterday was a day with pouring rain and amber alert about flood watches. It started out on a very painful note. You know how doctors ask you to rate your pain with a number between 1 and 10. Well, mine was a 20!

In that pouring rain and with excruciating pain I had to take myself the 10 miles to the doctor’s office. I was scheduled for lab work and later in the day a visit with the doctor. As I was waiting in line a nurse comes up to me with the news that the doctor said she needed to see me before ordering the labs.

Whatever air I had in me blew out immediately. How could the doctor do this to me? The pain and the disappointment came out in tears. If it would have been a regular situation, like what I call BC (before cancer), it would be no big deal. But these days for me to get to the doctor’s office, and especially in pouring rain, is a big deal.

I got out my computer and situated myself for a morning of waiting. The Swedish book on Good Soil that I’m translating made for a good “distraction.” The subject was about not taking short cuts in our Christian growth. Just as a baby has to grow in the mother’s womb during nine month to go to full term, there are no shot cuts in our Christina growth and development. We need to follow God’s procedure step by step.

At 12.30 PM I was called in to the doctor. I had dried my tears and calmed down. We had a good talk and the doctor was very understanding of my situation. What was the problem? (1) I am a new patient and she doesn’t know everything about me, which I took for granted since it’s all in my records. (2) There has been a change in the system so all my records are blocked. No wonder the doctor could not give orders for my labs! So I had to go through my story about my problems and she began ordering lab work. A few times the computer kicked her out, but she was persistent. The sum of it all is that before leaving the office I had both a flu shot and the needed lab work done! Rain turned to sunshine!

By 2.00 PM I was on my way home! Lesson learned? Don’t panic! Things will work out in the end. Of course, we could not discuss the results of the lab work, but hopefully no discussion will be needed.

The rain was still pouring but the pain had subsided. Usually by the afternoon, when the medications have kicked in, I can give the pain a rating of 7 or 8. That is my life these days. But I don’t let the pain govern my day. My dreams and visions of publishing God’s Word take center stage!

The sunshine in my day yesterday came in the afternoon. As you might remember I posted the story of William Carey a couple of months ago. Yesterday it went into cyberspace in Swedish!

William Carey 09

Choose a language to read about the great Bible translator and publisher!

SPANISH:  http://hermanamargarita.com/Guillermo Carey

ENGLISH:  https://mx1414.wordpress.com/William Carey

SWEDISH:  https://chelund.wordpress.com/William Carey

Nothing makes me happier than to offer helps to teachers for teaching the Word of God. This story is mission oriented. William Carey is known as the Father of Modern Missions.

When I was battling cancer and thought I was going to die, I asked God to let me live, so I could tell my grandchildren and other children his glorious deeds.

…tell to the coming generation the glorious deeds of the Lord, and his might,
and the wonders that he has done. Psalm 78:4

Six years ago I started the publication of stories for children on-line. Next week will be #300 in Spanish! In English I have around 50. This causes for celebration! I will write the story about how it all began. Next time I write a blog here it will probably be that story. I’m amazed and thankful. I don’t have words to express it. But no words are needed because God reads my heart.

Did you hear about the little boy who was reciting the alphabet? Someone came along and asked what he was doing. “I’m praying,” said the boy. “Praying? How can that be praying?” objected the person. “Yes!” said the boy. “I send the letters to God and then He can put together the words!”

God knows our heart better than we know it. He can put together the words! He saw my sadness and disappointment yesterday and He turned it into sunshine.

Do you have something that saddens your heart today? Is there a disappointment that clouds your day? God is merciful and full of love. He can turn your “scars into stars,” like the late Robert H. Schuller used to say.

Yesterday was an adventure. It had a rainy start but by the end of the day the sun was shining, even in the dark of the evening. Because the sun dispels the darkness!

Let the love of God’s Son shine on you today!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

