The Dog Who Ate the Bible

When I last posted here I thought that would be all about the celebration of 300 Perlitas, but during the week I received some pictures from a celebration my friend Pilar, a Sunday school teacher from Mexico, had with her children. I can’t pass up that celebration.

Pilar has started reading my stories to her children. She has made a binder to collect the 300 Perlitas. So she decided to celebrate with Abraham and Mildred, her boy and girl. Here is what she did:

Party hats

Pilar decided to do party hats. She cut circles of construction paper and divided them in fourths, and lay out crayons, markers and stickers for the children to use. What was the plan? They were to illustrate some of the stories. Here they are, ready for their assignment:

Listos para dibujarMaking the hats

Mildred illustrated the story of the dog who ate the Bible and of Sarah and her crutches. Abraham illustrated the story about Mario and Albert. Then they assembled their hats. And it was party time!

Party time

300 Perlitas Mexico

They were happy to celebrate with cupcakes the 300 stories, which little by little they will hear, as their mother continues her plan of reading to them.

Apagando velitas

No party without blowing out candles! As I see these children I think of the hundreds and thousands more that I am reaching through this wonderful medium of the internet. It’s good to be counter-acting the many bad and nasty things their little eyes ears can watch and hear.

Where you intrigued about the story Mildred illustrated? What about the dog who ate the Bible? Check it out for yourself. Here it is!

 

PERRO Y BIBLIA COSampson, the Hungry Dog

This is the story of a boy from the jungles of Africa named Ochella Dua (O-chel-ah Do-ah). Ochella Dua had a beautiful hunting dog named Sampson that was always by his side. He named him that because he was strong and brave like Sampson in the Bible and defended him from the great dangers of the jungle. He never went anywhere without his faithful dog.

OCHELLA’S TASTY BIBLE
One day something very bad happened. Sampson must have gotten hungrier than usual, because when Ochella Dua wasn’t paying attention, the dog ate his Bible! Now we know dogs like to chew things, but this was ridiculous!

Our jungle friend, Ochella Dua was very upset. He didn’t know what to do. Now what would happen to his beautiful hunting dog! He decided to talk to the pastor of his church. With tears in his eyes, he told him what had happened.

“Don’t worry,” said his pastor lovingly. “I’ll get you another Bible.”

But Ochella Dua was not comforted by his kind words.

“But, Pastor,” said Ochella Dua, “I’m worried about Sampson. What will happen now that he’s eaten the Bible?”

“Nothing will happen to Sampson,” the pastor comforted. “If dogs can eat bones, surely a little paper will not hurt him.”

But that was not what worried Ochella Dua. “I know that,” he said in a worried voice. “The problem is that once I was a bad boy. I had an enemy that I hated and I wanted something bad to happen to him.”

A CHANGE OF HEART
Ochella Dua began to explain… “One Sunday at church I heard you read in the Bible where Jesus told us to love and forgive our enemies. I put that Word inside me, then I forgave my enemy and started to love him instead. So now what will become of my dog?”

The pastor still did not understand why Ochella Dua was so concerned, for he was crying uncontrollably.

“Don’t cry,” he said, putting his hand on Ochella Dua’s shoulder.

“But, Pastor, what about my dog…my poor dog Sampson! Now that he has the Bible inside him, he will begin to love the tigers and lions. He won’t protect the cows and sheep from them. What I can do?”

BRAVE AS EVER
Calmly, the pastor explained to Ochella Dua that love does not come by “eating” the Bible but by receiving Christ in your heart.

Ochella Dua was not fully convinced, but after a few days he discovered that Sampson was as brave as ever. The pages of the Bible that he had eaten had not changed him at all. But the message of the Bible HAD changed Ochella Dua. And he was very happy about that!

Read the complete story and many others at MX1414.wordpress.com.

I’m thinking the party hats is a good idea to use for a children’s party. How fun for the children to illustrate their own hats! If you do it, take pictures and send them to me. By now, you must have figured out how much I love pictures! That’s my hobby!

I celebrated the stories and the children. Now it’s time to celebrate as never before Jesus’ Birthday. Jesus came, but HE WILL COME. He himself has promised that HE WILL COME BACK and take us to Him, because where He is, He wants us to be. (See John 14:1-6.)

That day will be a celebration like to other! Can’t wait to see Jesus face to face!

Are you ready for that day?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

