My Memory Box

Fourteen years I’ve had the box. This is what it looks like:

Memory boxInside box

The box is covered inside and out with artwork done by the precious girl who left this world on December 13, 2001. This year I want to honor her memory by showing a few things I have in the box. I last opened it this past summer to show the content to my youngest grandchild. I wanted her to know the things I have kept as memories of her aunt Eva-Marie.

Evas doll

This cute little doll didn’t fit in the box. It’s very special and I’ve always called it Eva-Marie’s look-alike. Sarah fell in love with it and my “soft” grandma heart could not deny her the doll. I gave it to Sarah!

Eva and Sarah w doll

Before putting the things back in the box, I photographed some of them. Let’s start with her baby shoes. They were originally white, but back then it was popular to color your shoes, so I colored them green!

Evas shoes

Another popular thing was to have people sign your shirt and then embroider the names.

Evas shirt w names

The names on this shirt bring back memories of the students at Bethel Bible Institute in Huancayo, Peru. One of the names is very special –EDITA–, since it belongs to the late oldest sister of my Dad’s wife.

Evas Bible

Eva-Marie was a Christian. She loved Jesus with all her heart. This was her first Bible, a Swedish Bible. Her English Bibles my late husband took over and used for the few years he had left, before he joined her. I can picture them both rejoicing in the presence of God.

Evas passport

Eva-Marie had dual citizenship on Earth, because greatest and foremost she was a citizen of Heaven! Being born in Peru she acquired Peruvian citizenship and being born to Swedish parents she acquired Swedish citizenship. Here are the passports to prove it. She would have loved to be an American citizen but she didn’t live long enough for that to be possible. Eva-Marie didn’t get her Resident Alien status until 1998. She would have had to wait until 2003 to apply for citizenship, but by that time she was already gone.

Evas expenses

Eva-Marie was very particular in keeping things in order. This is her book of expenses. If you are new to my blog you might not have read about my Eva-Marie. She had cystic fibrosis and battled this condition for 31 years. When she was diagnosed at age 3, the doctors gave her hopes to live to be 12. Many years later a doctor called her “a walking miracle.” Added to cystic fibrosis were a long list of conditions, like diabetes, asthma… the list would be too long to repeat.

Eva-Marie did not have a job, but she would “work” for me so she could have some spending money. And she kept well track of every penny. Most of her money was spent on books. She loved books. Her system of keeping track of the books and the authors is another story… too long to get into here!

Let me bring out one more thing from the memory box — my girls little uniform skirt.

Evas uniform

This is the uniform used in all the Peruvian schools–gray skirt (pants for the boys) and white blouse. Black shoes to go with it. Gray sweater for cold weather and a red poncho if it’s real cold. That’s what I remember. And I have a picture of my two little girls in their uniforms.

Girls in uniform

This will be all for today. Thanks for allowing me to share some of my memories. If you came by for a visit, I would bring out the box… There are many more memories hidden away in it.

REMEMBER was the word I chose for 2015. I’m glad for all the happy things I can remember about Eva-Marie. I thank God for lending her to me for 31 years. Now she is back where she belongs, in the presence of her Creator.

Soon we will remember once more the Precious Gift our Creator gave us that night back in Bethlehem when His Son Jesus was born to us. Let’s make it a season of joyous remembrance!

For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given;
and the government shall be upon his shoulder,
    and his name shall be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of his government and of peace
    there will be no end,
on the throne of David and over his kingdom,
    to establish it and to uphold it
with justice and with righteousness
    from this time forth and forevermore. Isaiah 9:6,7

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

