Two Pictures All Wrong

I have a Christmas memory. I wrote about in in December 2013, with the title Christmases Long Time Ago. Now I wanted to make it a story for children and asked my artist Absalom to illustrate it. The story is about a Christmas in Osorno, Chile when the tree at church was decorated with toys. I was seven years old and it impressed me so much I have ever forgotten that Christmas.

Here is the picture Absalom sent me. It’s a beautiful picture, highlighting me and my sisters; but it totally misses the point. Toys under the tree but not on the tree!

N001

Cristina, did her own rendition. I sent her the story to check the text and she decided to illustrate it. The title of the story is A Tree Full of Toys. Do you see a tree full of toys?

arbol navidad3This is supposed to me be, standing by the tree. Cristina said she was thinking about it during the night, that she had put no toys in the tree! Isn’t it typical? Thoughts come to us at night!

Both are beautiful pictures but I will have to come up with new stories. Absalom is doing another one today. Let’s hope that one works.

I’m not saying this to belittle my faithful artists. I love them dearly because without them, how could I illustrate my stories? But sometimes I fail to communicate what I want or I communicate wrong. To Absalom I had written that I wanted a tree “dressed” in toys! Cristina did a picture just for fun, I guess.

Am I going to be upset about this? No way! I’ll just wait and hope that the picture I get tomorrow will work. My mind is set on writing my personal testimony in stories for children. There will probably be more misunderstandings. But most of the time we communicate right!

What I now want to communicate, and I hope I get it right, is that I wish you a very Happy and Peaceful Christmas. I don’t know what your plans are, but let the Prince of Peace, Jesus our Lord and Savior, fill your heart with peace, as only He can do.

When I get the picture and the story translated, I’ll let you have a peek. For now…

The peace of God, which surpasses
all understanding, will guard your hearts
and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:7

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

