Company in the Waiting Room

Waiting rooms. I know all about them. After spending 31 years with a chronically ill child, waiting rooms turn out to be some very familiar places.

Years ago I thought about writing a book called In God’s Waiting Room. I was always waiting! Waiting for the miracle of healing! It came, but not as I had envisioned it. God performed the ultimate and most glorious miracle for my daughter. He took her home!

The waiting continues. Now I’m waiting for the day I’ll see her again. Now I’m crying tears of longing. It will now be 15 years of missing my precious Eva-Marie. The child my late husband and I offered to God as a sacrifice of love before she was even conceived. Our greatest desire was for her to be a missionary. We couldn’t think of anything nobler.

Our life with that precious child became a mission in waiting rooms. When I read this paragraph in Max Lucado’s book You’ll Get Through This, it struck a chord with me:

You’ll get through this waiting room season just fine. Pay careful note and you will detect the most wonderful surprise. The doctor will step out of his office and take the seat next to yours. “Just thought I’d keep you company while you are waiting.” Not ever physician will do that, but yours will. After all, he is the Great Physician. (last paragraph in chapter 6)

The waiting room experiences did not end with the home-going of Eva-Marie. Her father had physical challenges so I waited in countless waiting rooms together with him. That wait ended when God welcomed my dear Bengt to his heavenly home.

Now I’m familiar with the waiting rooms for my own sake. Shortly before my husband’s home-going I was hit with cancer. As I’ve mentioned a few times, the chemo treatments did good in killing the cancer but it damaged the nerves in my hand and feet. It’s been 8 years of waiting to get well.

The book I’ve just mentioned uses Joseph as the main inspiration, the Joseph of the Old Testament. If somebody was tried and knew about waiting it was that young man. He didn’t waiver in his trust in God. He didn’t know what a great job God was preparing him for. He remained faithful in the midst of unfair circumstances. Then, one day, he was promoted to Prime Minister of Egypt! God used him to save countless lives! Read the story in Genesis 37-50. It’s amazing!

Something I’ve been waiting for most of my adult life is to write a book about my life. When I had Eva-Marie I was so busy working to keep up with all the medical bills there was no time left for writing. I put my plans on a shelf I would get to when I retired. Now that I’m retired I have an expanding web ministry of teaching that is taking all my time.

I wrote about my plans and hopes in my Christmas letter. Last year I had hoped to get to the book but there were so many new lessons to write that it stayed on the shelf. Yesterday I got a card from a sweet little lady at church. It read:

God is the one who keeps track of our lives. He’s writing your book for you, the one you wanted to write. He’s writing it from Heaven. He knows it better than anyone else.

The Great Physician is with me in the waiting room! God is writing my book. What comfort to know that whatever happens, He is in control. My life is in God’s hands. There is no better resting place.

I’ve added some words to my theme of FRAGRANCE. Vitality and Restoration. It makes for a good trio.

fragrance x3 4

Lewi Pethrus, the founder of the Swedish Pentecostal Movement, had extraordinary vitality the last 20 years of his life. That is what I’m praying for. I added RESTORATION yesterday as our pastor prayed that prayer over us. I’m hoping for healing, for complete health to be restored. My daughter used to say, “Even if God doesn’t heal me, I’ll serve him just the same.” I feel the same way. My physical condition is only temporary. This life is like a breath. Eternity is what matters!

Are you in a waiting room? Your Heavenly Father is with you. He knows the whole story. Your life is laid out before him. Trust Him!

Trust Him when dark doubts assail you.
Trust Him when your strength is small.
Trust Him when to simply trust Him
Seems the hardest thing of all.

I pray that this will be your best year ever, even if you have to spend it in the waiting room.

Shalom!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

