Every Spiritual Blessing

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. Ephesians 1:3,4 ESV

During Thanksgiving week I made a list of some of the great blessings to thank God for. I’ve been wanting to share it ever since. Finally, here it is!

  1. Jesus bore my sins on the cross, so that I might die to sin and live to righteousness.

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. 1 Peter 2:24

  1. By his wounds I am healed.

But he was pierced for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his wounds we are healed. Isaiah 53:5

  1. Our Blessed Hope

Waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ. Titus 2:13

Jesus is coming soon!

  1. L O V E
    God’s love has been poured into my heart.

And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. Romans 5:5

  1. The Power of the Holy Spirit

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” Acts 1:8

  1. The Fruit of the Spirit

But the fruit of the Spirit is (Galatians 5:22,23)

  • Love
  • Joy
  • Peace
  • Patience
  • Kindness
  • Goodness
  • Faithfulness
  • Gentleness
  • Self-control
  1. Power, love and self-control

For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. 2 Timothy 1:7

  1. P E A C E

 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27

For [Jesus] himself is our peace. Ephesians 2:14

  1. G R A C E

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. Ephesians 2:4-8

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight Ephesians 1:7,8

  1. The Power of Prayer

 Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20,21

  1. The Armor of GodEphesians 6:13-17

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore,

  • having fastened on the belt of truth,
  • and having put on the breastplate of righteousness,
  • and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace.
  • In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one;
  • and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.
  1. The Gifts of the Spirit — 1 Corinthians 12:7-11

To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.

  • the utterance of wisdom
  • the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit
  • faith by the same Spirit
  • gifts of healing by the one Spirit
  • the working of miracles
  • prophecy
  • the ability to distinguish between spirits
  • various kinds of tongues
  • the interpretation of tongues

All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills.

  1. All things work together for good my good.
    And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good,[a] for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28
  1. The Spirit of Adoption
    I can call God “Abba! Father!”

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, Romans 8:14-16

  1. Speaking in Tongues
    What a wonderful blessing to have had this prayer language since I was a child!

Praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. Ephesians 6:18

  1. Greater Things

 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father.” John 14:12

  1. Fishers of Men
    The blessing to go and FISH!

“Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men.” Mark 1:17

  1. Salt and Light
    The blessing to be salt and light. Thank you, Jesus! Help me!

 “You are the salt of the earth, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything except to be thrown out and trampled under people’s feet.

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:13-16

  1. The Blessing to Love my EnemyLuke 6:27-36

 “But I say to you who hear,

  • love your enemies
  • do good to those who hate you
  • bless those who curse you
  • pray for those who abuse you
  • to one who strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also
  • from one who takes away your cloak do not withhold your tunic either
  • give to everyone who begs from you
  • from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back
  • as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them

“If you love those who love you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. And if you do good to those who do good to you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners do the same. And if you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, to get back the same amount. But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return, and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for he is kind to the ungrateful and the evil. Be merciful, even as your Father is merciful.”

  1. Missionary Calling
    Jesus called me at age 10 to be his missionary. My feeling is the same as the apostle Paul’s:

“But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.” Acts 20:24

  1. The Gospel

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. Romans 1:16

  1. F A I T H

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen… And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. Hebrews 11:1,6

  1. God’s Constant Presence

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?” Hebrews 13:5,6

  • God will never leave me
  • God will never forsake me
  1. “I will come again!”
    Jesus promise of my heavenly home.

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.” John 14:1-3

  1. He is able to keep me from falling.
    To Him be the glory forever!

Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen. Jude 24,25

I’m stopping here, but there is no end to this list. God’s blessings will follow us into eternity. May we count our blessings as never before!

What is your priority list of blessings?

every blessing

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

