She Must Be 89!

I’ve not yet reached the respectable age of 89, but somebody considered that I must be that old. Pilar, one of my teacher friends in Mexico, that has been using my teaching materials for some time, sent me an interesting e-mail today. She and the teacher’s in her church are studying a book with teaching tips that I have posted online. I wrote the book as a young missionary in Peru. I have up-dated it and done and attractive lay-out to make it enjoyable to study.

My friend Pilar and the teachers are studying the book in sessions. She had talked a lot about me and they have used some of my teaching materials. Since they had not seen a picture of me, Pilar decided to print a photo and take it to the session. I suppose it was my profile picture or maybe this one.

IMG_0094Pilar asked them how old they thought I was and most of them said 50 or 55. One of the teachers didn’t agree. She thought I must be 89! Yes, I looked like 50 or 55 but thinking about all the materials I’ve written she figured the wisdom must be of an 89-year old! I hope Pilar tells her I was around 30 when I wrote the book!

I think I needed this amusing story. Last week was very stressful. I have not written a blog in a while because all my energy went to handle a problem that took a lot of my time. It’s not really my problem but still my problem. You probably have had the same experience sometime, how you get very much involved in somebody else’s problem. You want to help. Sometimes the help is accepted and other times you’re misunderstood. The week ended with getting sick with a cold. I guess the stress took its toll.

I’ve cured myself with honey, apple cider vinegar, ginger root, lemon, garlic, vaporizing rub and the latest I’ve read about, to sleep with onion rings in your socks. It sure does the trick!

The amusing story about being an 89-year old woman is not all. I got a big surprise in the mail! My first birthday card for the year! Some of my readers might remember that five years ago, when I turned 65, I had the privilege of preaching at the Assemblies of God church in Fort Gibson. The pastor at that time, Pat Ford, sent me a card and a birthday offering. That was a warm breeze in the cold of winter! How did she remember? Blessings to Pat!

The pastor at that church today has promised me some time to give a testimony on my 70th birthday, which will be on a Sunday. I sure hope I can be there. It all depends on Old Man Winter. I hope he can hide his face that weekend so I can go see my family in Fort Gibson. It would be disappointing not to celebrate that day with them.

Cristina and I have been working hard on materials for Valentine’s Day. She’s made a beautiful Flower of Love. You can find all the different components on my Free Resources page: MX1414.wordpress.com Go to the page LOVE IS…

When I was a teenager living in Tarma, Peru I was stalked by an “old” man. Yes, that’s what I thought. He was 40 years old! That man would not leave me alone. He promised me a fried egg every morning if I married him (he had a chicken farm). What a generous offer!

Now I’m quite a bit older than that “old” man, but I feel young at heart. I’m still going strong. My body isn’t cooperating with my “young” heart as I wish but as long as I have breath I will serve the Lord with my talents. The hours are not enough to put all my ideas to work. Having an assistant like Cristina, whose head also spins with ideas, doesn’t help. I guess we should praise the Lord that the well isn’t dry. I have projects to last me several years.

I hope you will follow along this year as I develop my Abc’s of fragrance. I won’t be able to follow the alphabet in English as in Spanish but the themes will be the same. I trust the Lord will speak to us, so we can truly be His sweet aroma to the people around us.

Have a blessed week!

spreading frangrance

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fragrance of Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

