A Surprise Birthday Present from Heaven

We all like surprises, don’t we? Sometimes there are unpleasant surprises, but most surprises are wonderful! When God surprises us, it’s always a wonderful thing!

Today I’m going to tell about the time when God surprised me with a birthday gift. It was the night before my 33rd birthday. Thirty-three is special; that’s the age Jesus was when he went to the cross to carry our sins. Wonderful, precious Savior!

Since childhood I had suffered with back pain, but I didn’t know the cause. I always had to find a position that would relieve me of the pain. When I stood, I had to shift my weight from one foot to the other. I never felt comfortable.

It happened on March 5, 1979. My husband stayed home with our two daughters and I went to church. We lived in a village half an hour away from the city where the church was. The town was called Villands Vånga and the city was Kristianstad, in southern Sweden. If you search on a map of Europe, Sweden is toward the north. It is one of the Scandinavian countries.

March is a winter month in Sweden and very cold. The temperature is generally in the low digits with lots of snow. The sun rises only a few hours each day. In northern Sweden it’s dark all day long. In the summer, on the contrary, the sun does not set and you can still see it shining at midnight! It’s called The Midnight Sun!

A SURPRISE MIRACLE

The night before my birthday God performed an awesome miracle. We had a visiting pastor from the United States. After preaching the Word, he said he wanted to pray for people who had back pain. I was so used to my pain I almost missed my opportunity to receive prayer. I believe God gave me a little push, and I went forward.

The pastor made me sit on a chair and told me to stretch my legs out in front of me. I stretched my legs and he lifted them to show me something I had not seen before. One leg was shorter than the other! I had never even thought of measuring my legs!

“You have back pain because your legs are uneven,” said the pastor. Then he prayed for God to heal me by growing the leg that was shorter.

La pierna que crecioIt was exciting! God did grow my leg! There was not a big difference, but there was definitely a difference, and that night changed my life. For the first time, as far back as I remembered, I could stand without shifting position from one leg to another. What a wonderful feeling it was!

I “flew” back to the house! No, I didn’t drive above speed limit, but it felt like I was flying down the road in my car. I couldn’t wait to tell my husband and my daughters about my miracle!

“God has given me a wonderful birthday present!” I cried out when I entered the house. I jumped for joy and stood up without moving my feet from side to side. What a difference it was!

Print the story: 70 The Leg that Grew

MANY MORE MIRACLES

That’s not the only miracle God has done in my life. God has healed me many times. Eight years ago, God healed me of cancer. It was not an instant miracle, like it was when he grew my leg. This time God used doctors and medicines, but it was still His power that healed me.

I have a very special notation in my Bible, by Psalm 118:17, jotted down when I had my last chemo treatment, on July 23, 2008.

“I will not die but live, and will proclaim
what the Lord has done.”

The blogs and the stories I write are a result of that healing. The Lord has allowed me to live. I asked him to let me live so I could proclaim his wonders to the next generation. The Spanish, English and Swedish stories I’ve published on the Web will soon add up to 400. Each one is a miracle from God!

This morning I told the Lord it would be awesome if He would surprise me with healing of my feet. What a great birthday present for my 70th it would be!

Healed or not, I’m moving forward. I have so many projects it’s going to take me years to accomplish them. When I was dying and I asked the Lord to give me more time, I asked for 20 years. Almost half of that time is now gone! I should have asked for 30!

Miracles are for anyone who wants to receive them. There are miracles for you also. God can do wonders in your life. Maybe one day he’ll give you a surprise miracle.

Come what may, this is our wonderful assurance:

For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.
Romans 14:8

Have a super miraculous day!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Surprise Birthday Present from Heaven

  1. Pingback: Happy to Celebrate 71 | Kerstin Lundquist's Blog

Leave a Reply

