Entrusted with the Dearest

Do you think Peter followed Jesus to Calvary, after his defeat at the courthouse? Maybe he was too overcome with grief because of his cowardly denial of Jesus.

But John, his friend and ministry companion, was there. Others, whose names we don’t have were there. But reading the Gospel accounts we find several of the women named:

  • First and foremost: Mary the mother of Jesus
  • Jesus’ aunt, Mary’s sister
  • Mary the wife of Clopas
  • Mary Magdalene
  • Mary, the mother of James and Joses
  • Salome
  • The mother of Zebedee’s sons

Luke tells us that all who knew him were standing at a distance. John was brave; he stood at the feet of the cross.

Jesus felt his responsibility as the oldest son. The disciple that he loved [John’s way of describing himself] was there and he entrusted him with the dearest.

John 19:25-27
Near the cross of Jesus stood his mother… When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to his mother, “Dear woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.” From that time on, this disciple took her into his home.

Wait a minute, I’m calling her “the dearest,” but what did Jesus say about his mother and his brothers and sisters?

Mark 3:31-35
Then Jesus’ mother and brothers arrived. Standing outside, they sent someone in to call him. A crowd was sitting around him, and they told him, “Your mother and brothers are outside looking for you.”

“Who are my mother and my brothers?” he asked.
Then he looked at those seated in a circle around him and said, “Here are my mother and my brothers! Whoever does God’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”

We —you and I— are his dearest. That’s the reason Jesus went to the cross. Jesus entrusted John with the care of his dear mother. He has entrusted us with the dearest: THE GOSPEL, the Good News of Salvation.

Someone once imagined an angel in heaven asking Jesus after His return from earth how the world would know The Story. Jesus answered that he was depending on his disciples to tell it. “But what if they don’t tell The Story?” asked the angel, to which Jesus responded, “I have no other plan.”

We are HIS PLAN to spread the Word. Mary was also entrusted to spread the Gospel. She was one of the many that awaited the promise of the Holy Spirit. She was there when God empowered his followers. John was a young man at the time, and he stayed true to his responsibility. Thanks to him we have the Gospel of Love he wrote, we have three letters full of love, and we have the Revelation given to him by Jesus about things to come.

I’m writing this blog today to carry out what is dearest to Jesus, the spreading of the Good News of salvation.

Forty-six years ago, on a Good Friday, that was like they say in Swedish, a LOOONG Friday (Långfredag), God gave me a daughter. It’s always been very special to me that I was privileged to give birth on such a day. That precious girl is now with Jesus. I’m just waiting for the day when we will meet again!

The day that looked the darkest to the brave ones at the foot of the cross and all who watched at a distance; the day when it was dark at noontime; the day when the curtain in the temple was ripped from top to bottom; the day when my Savior gave up the breath and cried out, “It is finished!”… that is the most glorious day in human history. That is the day my sins were nailed to the cross.

John and Mary, and all the others thought it was all over, but it was just the beginning! On Sunday he would be raised from the dead to proclaim the victory.

1 Corinthians 15:54-57
Death has been swallowed up in victory
.
“Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?
The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.
But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory
through our Lord Jesus Christ.

What are we doing with “the dearest” that Jesus has entrusted to us? Jesus has no other plan for the spreading of the Gospel than you and I doing it.

Jesus has entrusted us
with the dearest to his heart!

Juan y MariaJesus entrusted John with the care for Mary.

We have been entrusted to spread the message of His victory on the Cross.

AT THE CROSS
Isaac Watts, E. Hudson, chorus

Alas, and did my Savior bleed
and did my Savior die?
Would he devote that sacred head
for such a worm as I?

Chorus:
At the cross, at the cross
where I first saw the light,
and the burden of my heart rolled away.
It was there by faith I received my sight.

And now I am happy all the day!

Was it for crimes that I have done
He groaned upon the tree?
Amazing pity, grace unknown,
and love beyond degree!

Well might the sun in darkness hide
and shut his glories in.
When Christ, the Mighty Maker, died
for man the creature’s sin.

But drops of grief can ne’er repay
the debt of love I owe.
Here, Lord, I give myself away.
‘Tis all that I can do.

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Easter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

