Saved “in” a disaster and not “from” it

I’ve had an enjoyable week with the visit of Jeanet from Peru. She was in my Sunday school in Huancayo more than 40 years ago!

Keerstin and Jeanet AGJeanet and I visiting the Assemblies of God “headquarters”

Then came the time to take her to the airport. She forgot her jacket at the house, so I had to go back and get it. The disaster hit. Getting back to the parking lot at the airport I saw the light post, but not that it had a big cement block at the bottom. That’s where I hit with a bang!

How I managed to get myself home with the car is a miracle!

Thank God for friends to call on! I had a dentist appointment yesterday and wondered who to call for help, since I had no “drive-able” car. My friend Merle was coming to town with his wife so they picked me up and drove we where I needed to go, and then they picked me up and drove me home again.

Now my car is being towed to the mechanic. What surprise will the assessment of the damage bring me? As I said, it’s a miracle that I managed to drive home!

I can’t stop praising God that he saved me “in” the disaster. Even if we are not saved “from” a disaster we can always be thankful that it wasn’t worse.

I have been writing and teaching about being safe in the hands of God. It never fails! I myself have to be the object lesson!

I remember as a child when my father was a pastor, every time he would teach on divine healing, the next day someone in his family was sick. But that didn’t stop him. We sure have to practice what we preach!

This past week my story for the children was Jeanet’s testimony on how she has been in God’s hands ever since she learned of God’s love as a child. We found this picture in my files. She’s the little girl in white looking up (on the left).

En las manos JeanetHere is part of her story:

To print it: 75 The Safest Place

One day Jeanet sat at the door of her house. She was very sad. Her parents had announced that they were getting a divorce. It made her feel very unprotected and alone. While she was sitting there thinking, a red van stopped by her house. The driver was my father and he invited her to go to Sunday school.

Jeanet did not know what Sunday school was, but he told her it was a place where she would learn about God, a place to hear Bible stories, so she would not be sad or feel alone.

That was just what Jeanet needed… a place where there was no sadness! She climbed into the van, which was already filled with children, wondering if she had done the right thing, jumping in the van of a stranger.

At Sunday school, to Jeanet the teacher looked like an angel. I can assure you it was no angel, but to a lonely and sad little girl it seamed so. I was the teacher, privileged to plant the first seed of love in her heart.

Jeanet found a happy place in Sundat school. There was no talk of divorce and no fussing and fighting, like she heard at home between her parents. She learned to know the love of God. Jeanet took her brothers and sisters to church and later invited her parents. When they heard about God and felt His love, they stopped the divorce procedures and did not separate.

After a while Jeanet’s family moved to Lima, the capital of Peru, and she lost contact with me. She was very sad when she had to move. I told her to never forget Psalm 23, where God speaks about being our Shepherd and Protector.

In the worst moments of her life Jeanet thought about Psalm 23. Remembering it, brought to mind the beautiful memories of Sunday school and God’s love. For a while Jeanet turned away from God, but Jesus the Good Shepherd did not leave her. She was near death four times. In her worst moments, she remembered Psalm 23: “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want…”

Jeanet “found me” again after 40 years! We met through the marvel of the internet. God has kept us both in His hands all these years. Being in His hands is the safest place to be.

Because of Jeanet I am now another object lesson. I have to show that what I teach are not empty words. Janet’s journey with God started with a red van in 1967. Her visit with me ended with a crash, so to speak. Now my red “friend” is on its way to who knows what. I’m trusting the Lord, who never leaves me and never forsakes me.

My Chevy FriendWhen some disaster hits us we have to remember that we live in a fallen world and we are not “exempt” from the things that happen in life, BUT we can be assured that God is with us in whatever dire circumstance we encounter. Like I told Jeanet when she was a child, I will not forget Psalm 23: THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD!

Sure, I am tempted to despair. But I picture myself safely in HIS HANDS. Nothing that the Lord can’t handle comes my way. The story will continue…

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Disasters, My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

