Lonely but Happy

One of my friends on Facebook posted a picture of a lonely tree describing himself. Even if he has 1,700 friends on FB he is lonely. He misses his wife of 56 years!

I found me a picture of a lonely tree, because that also describes me. Today I have the happy memory of one of the most exciting days of my life. 47 years ago I said “yes” to a charming man from Karlskrona, Sweden. But I’m lonely!

Happy and LonelyWith my parents and husband on a very happy day

It’s a happy memory, but somewhat embarrassing. The wedding was in Huancayo, Peru, at the Methodist Church, which we had rented. My friend Anita, and Maid of Honor, told me to come an hour late, because that is what people did. But for this wedding people came on time because they figured I would, as being a foreigner.

They have a saying in Peru about “Peruvian time” or “English time.” “English time” is what I have always kept, which is coming on time! “Peruvian time” can be one or two hours late. All my years in my beloved Peru I had a problem with this issue. I would show up on time for appointments and events, and almost every time I had to wait for people to show up.

On my wedding day people had to wait because I came late! The Mayor that was going to perform the civil ceremony said he would go home if I didn’t arrive soon, so Dad had to send a taxi with my brother to get me. I’m still embarrassed because I planned to be late! Well, I finally made it, one hour late!

The Mayor was gracious enough to stay until this bride who “hated to come late” finally showed up. He performed the “civil ceremony” and then my father took over and did the “religious” one. That’s what they call it in Peru.

Today I am like the lonely tree on the picture. But I have the happy memory to look back on, with my parents and church friends celebrating the wedding with me. Next weekend I will not need to be lonely. We will celebrate my youngest grandchild’s eights birthday. When I turned eight I was the oldest of four siblings. She, my precious Sarah, is the youngest of four siblings.  Really five, because she has an older brother; a “bonus” brother, as they would say in Sweden.

I thought it would be fun to go out and have a celebration dinner; then I remembered! I’m stuck at home, car-less, lonelier than ever! But happy! Brianna (11) just called so we could plan her sister’s party. We are going to be in charge of the activities. She and I are the ones who have our heads full of ideas! I feel very blessed to have an “extension” of the happy occasion of May 1, 1969 to share ideas with.

When you have “tasted” the company of a kind and loving man, someone to share the good and the bad with, loneliness hits harder. But I can sympathize with those who are lonely. As I am writing, one of King David’s psalms comes to mind.

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!
Psalm 34:8

I have “tasted” the company of a kind man (that doesn’t mean we didn’t have disagreements) and I miss that company. In October it will be 9 years since he went to be with the Lord. I am lonely!

I “taste” every day the goodness of the Lord. I couldn’t live a second without His love! Just this past week, when I hit the concrete block with my car, I saw His goodness. I could have hit a car; I could have hit a person! In the midst of my troubles, God was good and saved me from something worse. The concrete block made dents in my car; those dents will make a big “dent” in my pocket. Hopefully this lesson will help me keep my eyes and thoughts on the road and not wander around all over the place.

Maybe this Anniversary will go into history as the most lonely, but I’m happy.

I am happy in Jesus!

Have you “tasted” that the Lord is good? If not, turn to Jesus as your Savior and Lord. Nothing on earth can compare to the joy of having a personal relationship with the Creator of the world.

Believe in the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved! Write me a comment and I will explain to you how to put your trust in Jesus for your eternal salvation.

Be happy!

With Jesus, even a lonely place
is a happy place!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lonely but Happy

  1. Victoria Velásquez Gutarra says:

    Wish sooo much my lot of love reaches your heart and let you know that althugh we are far away from each ther, I always keep you in my mind and admire you soooo much my lovely Sunday School Misssionary and teacher. I knw how much you miss brther Bengt, I beg the Lord lots of love and peace fill your heart and the blessing company of the ones close to you never fail. Blessings, dear hermana Che.

Leave a Reply

